Dental Quality Assurance Commission Newsletter - July 2021

Dental Quality Assurance Commission − July 2021 Newsletter

Dental Commission Banner


The electronic prescribing rules will be in effect January 2022. See what that means for you as a provider here.

Time to renew

Licensure Renewal

See reminders and tips for renewing your dental license here.

Continuing Education

Dr. Aaron Stevens shared some information and tips about dental continuing education. Read more here.

CE keyboard
dental labs

Dental Labs

Read reminders and best practices regarding utilizing dental labs here.

Legal actions

Legal Actions
March - June 2021

Read about the final actions taken this quarter by the commission, Secretary of Health, or Board of Denturists here.


Continuing Education Quiz

Earn continuing education credit by taking our newsletter quiz! See this edition's quiz as well as the answers from the previous edition here.

Purpose Statement

Purpose Statement

It is the purpose of the commission established in RCW 18.32.0351 to regulate the competency and quality of professional healthcare providers under its jurisdiction by establishing, monitoring, and enforcing qualifications for licensure, continuing education, consistent standards of practice, continuing competency mechanisms, and discipline.

Frequently Visited

Article Quick Links


Licensure Renewal

Continuing Education

Dental Labs

Legal Actions

Continuing Education Quiz

Dental Rules and Laws

RCW 18.32

WAC 246-817

RCW 18.260

RCW 18.350

RCW 18.130

WAC 246-12

WAC 246-16

RCW 70.02

Commission Members

David Carsten, D.D.S., Chairperson
Lyle McClellan, D.D.S., Vice-Chairperson
Julia Richman, D.D.S.
Joy McDaniel, D.D.S.
Miryam Nossa, EFDA  
Kunal Walia, D.D.S.
Aaron Stevens, D.M.D.
Ronald Marsh, D.D.S.
Kathleen Elling, EFDA
Sonia Pal, D.M.D.
McKinley Rainey, Public Member
Tiffany Bass, D.D.S.
Abhishake Banda, D.M.D., M.D.
Karen Clements, D.D.S.
Marlynne Fulton, Public Member


Commission Staff and Contact Information

Trina Crawford
Executive Director

Jennifer Santiago
Program Manager

Becky McElhiney
Assistant Program Manager

Erin Obenland
Case Manager

Department of Health
PO Box 47852
Olympia, WA

Customer Service

Dentist website

Contact the Commission

DOH 646-175
July 2021