Press Release: Eviction Prevention Efforts Continue Despite Partial Eviction Moratorium

Wisconsin Department of Administration Logo



Tony Evers, Governor

Joel Brennan, Secretary

August 6, 2021
Contact: DOA Communications, (608) 266-7362

Eviction Prevention Efforts Continue Despite Partial Eviction Moratorium

Rental Assistance Critical for Areas Not Covered by Current Extension


Madison, Wis.– The Wisconsin Department of Administration (DOA) is urging residents in need of rental assistance to apply for the Wisconsin Emergency Rental Assistance program now despite a new federal moratorium on evictions. The new federal eviction moratorium was enacted on August 3 and will remain in place through October 3, 2021. DOA cautions that the new moratorium does not extend state-wide in Wisconsin and Wisconsinites behind on their rent could be at risk of eviction.

“We understand that changing information may be confusing to folks facing eviction. The most important message we have for people is that help is available and that they shouldn’t wait. Call 2-1-1 or visit,” urged DOA Secretary Joel Brennan, adding, “We will continue working with our local agency partners to provide emergency rental assistance and support Wisconsin families in need.”

The Wisconsin Emergency Rental Assistance (WERA) program uses federal funds to provide eligible households up to 15 months of assistance with existing or overdue rent and utility bills, including internet costs. WERA was expanded by Governor Tony Evers in July to help renters cover their housing-related costs and stay in stable housing during the pandemic. The program has provided over $47.9 million in rental and utility assistance so far this year, supporting nearly 13,000 households state-wide.

Aiming to slow the spread of the Delta COVID-19 variant, the new order from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) currently only applies to counties experiencing substantial and high levels of community transmission.

While most areas in Wisconsin are currently experiencing either “substantial” or “high” levels of community transmission, according to the CDC, 24 counties are not covered by the current order, including: Crawford, Douglas, Door, Forest, Florence, Grant, Green, Green Lake, Iowa, Jackson, Juneau, Kewaunee, Lafayette, Langlade, Manitowoc, Monroe, Oneida, Pierce, Polk, Sawyer, Shawano, St. Croix, Taylor, and Waushara counties. Those counties will not be covered under the current moratorium unless they start experiencing substantial and high levels of community transmission.

Using the Wisconsin Eviction Data Project, DOA is identifying Wisconsinites at risk of eviction to allow WISCAP agencies to proactively reach out to potentially eligible households and offer support and resources.


About the WERA and the Eviction Data Project 

The Wisconsin Eviction Data Project ​is produced by the Interagency Council on Homelessness​ to track, on a monthly basis, the number of eviction filings and judgements for eviction in all 72 counties in the state to track the state's housing economy, the efficacy of homelessness prevention programs, and to inform the public on housing policy needs throughout Wisconsin.

The Wisconsin Emergency Rental Assistance program is an initiative​ administered by the Wisconsin Department of Administration and funded by the Federal Emergency Rental Assistance Program through the U.S. Department of Treasury. The counties of Brown, Dane, Milwaukee, and Waukesha, as well as the cities of Madison and Milwaukee, are operating their own emergency rental assistance programs. More information is available at and

Find us on Twitter: @WisconsinDOA
Like us on Facebook: Wisconsin DOA
Find more DOA news in our Newsroom.
Having trouble viewing this email? View it as a Web page.