Notice of Committee Passage for Engrossed Senate Bill 5372. PL - Update: Passed Legislature

Office of Financial Management

Having trouble viewing this email? View it as a Web page.

Bookmark and Share

You are receiving this email as a subscriber to the Initiative 960 email list. RCW 43.135.031 (I-960) requires that notices be sent each time a bill that raises taxes or fees is: introduced in either house; scheduled for a public hearing; approved by any legislative committee; or passed by either house of the Legislature.

Please note: This email message was sent from a notification-only address. Please do not reply to this message.

ESB 5372.PL, titled AN ACT Relating to a hemp processor registration process, has been passed by the Senate Committee on Agriculture, Water, Natural Resources & Parks. The Office of Financial Management has identified this bill as requiring a ten-year projection of increased cost to the taxpayers or affected fee payers.

Ten-year projection:

Department of Agriculture:

Requires the WSDA to establish hemp processor registration and hemp extraction certification fees in rule for an amount that will sustain the hemp program. The cash receipt impact is indeterminate at this time because that agency does no know the number of licenses that will be issued and fees will be determined during rulemaking. 


Hemp processor would be the hemp regulatory account (24G). Food safety's hemp extraction would fall under local fund (126) since it falls under RCW 69.07. 


At the time of implementation - Hemp Certification fees to be set by the department to cover cost of the hemp extract certification program.  Using the broad assumptions known at this time, 20 users are anticipated to request initial certification for the purposes of the estimation after rulemaking is complete.  (20 users x $4,000/year/user = $80,000/year).  Program is estimating a 10% increase in certification requests FY23 onward resulting from continued development of the hemp extract industry.


Ten-year projection prepared in consultation with the following agencies:

Department of Agriculture

The following legislators voted do pass:

Senator Shelly Short
(360) 786-7612

Senator Christine Rolfes
(360) 786-7644

Senator Kevin Van De Wege
(360) 786-7646

Senator Judy Warnick
(360) 786-7624

Senator Derek Stanford
(360) 786-7600

Senator Jesse Salomon
(360) 786-7662

The following legislators voted to refer the bill without recommendation:

Senator Jim Honeyford
(360) 786-7684

Legislative Bill Information Website:

Initiative 960 Website: