DOE Hydrogen Program Presents 2022 Awards at Annual Merit Review

Bookmark and Share

Having trouble viewing this email? View it as a Web page.

Energy dot gov Office of Energy Efficiency and renewable energy

Hydrogen and Fuel Cell Technologies Office


June 7, 2022

DOE Hydrogen Program Presents 2022 Awards at Annual Merit Review  

The U.S. Department of Energy's Hydrogen Program presented its annual awards at the 2022 Annual Merit Review and Peer Evaluation Meeting on June 6. Each year, the Hydrogen Program presents awards to individuals from partner institutions for contributions to overall program efforts and to recognize research, development, and demonstration achievements in specific areas.

This year’s awardees were:

Hydrogen Technologies—Production

Dr. Aditya Mohite (William Marsh Rice University) for his achievements demonstrating record solar-to-hydrogen conversion and improved durability of a halide perovskite photoelectrochemical cell. 

Hydrogen Technologies—Storage and Infrastructure

Dr. Travis Williams (University of Southern California) and Dr. John Gordon (Los Alamos National Laboratory) for their outstanding work demonstrating improved catalysts for the dehydrogenation of high-capacity hydrogen carriers. 

Fuel Cell Technologies

Dr. Minette Ocampo and Dr. Paul Matter (pH Matter, LLC) for their success in developing a new fuel cell catalyst showing improved durability with the potential to meet the performance and durability targets of the Million Mile Fuel Cell Truck (M2FCT) consortium. 

Technology Acceleration

Daniel Leighton (National Renewable Energy Laboratory) for outstanding leadership in incorporating hydrogen and fuel cell technologies into the Advanced Research on Integrated Energy Systems (ARIES) platform. 

Technology Acceleration—Safety, Codes and Standards

Dr. Ethan Hecht (Sandia National Laboratories) for outstanding contribution to the development of science-based codes and standards through the validation of liquid hydrogen release behavior.

Learn more about the 2022 award recipients and how their critical work is helping America realize the full potential and clean energy benefits of hydrogen power.