New Members of Biomass Research and Development TAC Announced

Biomass Research and Development TAC Members Announced  
ENERGY.GOV - Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy
Bioenergy Technologies Office 

August 21, 2018

New Members of the Biomass Research and Development Technical Advisory Committee Announced

The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) announces the newest members of the Biomass Research and Development Technical Advisory Committee (TAC). The TAC provides advice and makes recommendations to the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) and the DOE concerning the Biomass Research and Development Initiative (BRDI), an interagency program that helps develop economically and environmentally sustainable sources of renewable biomass, increases the availability of renewable fuels and biobased products, and diversifies our energy portfolio

Recommendations provided by the TAC include whether the funds authorized for BRDI, which is jointly funded between the two departments, are distributed and used in a manner consistent with its objectives. The solicitations are open and competitive, the objectives and evaluation criteria are clearly stated, and the projects are selected based on merit using an independent panel of scientific and technical peers predominantly from outside USDA and DOE. This TAC was originally established under the Biomass Research and Development Act of 2000 (Biomass Act).

New members of the TAC include:

  • Brent Bean, Director of Agronomy, United Sorghum Checkoff Program
  • Michael Beardsley, Senior Policy Advisor to Office of Governor LePage, Maine
  • Doug Faulkner (Co-Chair), President and Founder, Leatherstocking, LLC
  • Aviva Glaser, Senior Policy Specialist, National Wildlife Federation
  • Alan Keller, Plant Biomass Manager, POET
  • Pete Madden, President and CEO, Drax Biomass
  • Michael McAdams, President, Advanced Biofuels Association
  • Tim Rials, Associate Dean of AgResearch and Associate Director of the Tennessee Agricultural Experiment Station
  • Susan Rupp, Owner/Lead Consultant, Enviroscapes Ecological Consulting, LLC
  • Basudeb Saha, Associate Director of Research, Catalysis Center for Energy Innovation, University of Delaware
  • Larry Sullivan, Adjunct Professor, Geography, The Citadel

The next TAC quarterly meeting will be held on Aug. 22–23, 2018, at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC-Crystal City in Arlington, Virginia.

New members are sought through a Federal Register notice.


View in browser


DOE Twitter Twitter

EERE Facebook Facebook

EERE LinkedInLinkedIn

Update your subscriptions, modify your password or e-mail address, or stop subscriptions at any time on your Subscriber Preferences Page. You will need to use your e-mail address to log in. If you have questions or problems with the subscription service, please contact

This service is provided to you at no charge by DOE's Office of Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy (EERE). Visit the Web site at