united states coast guard

13 SEP 21

ALCGPSC 089/21
1. The International Military Community Executives Association
(IMCEA) will again be presenting MWR awards and scholarships in 2021.
IMCEA awards offer commands a unique opportunity to recognize
exceptional members of the command performing MWR duties through
the awards program of this international organization. Nominees for
MWR awards may perform MWR duties as a collateral assignment and may
be appropriated or nonappropriated funded individuals. The
following are the award category criteria and format for submission:
   a. Irv Rubenstein Memorial Award: Designed to recognize
exceptional achievement of an MWR manager with less than two years
of managerial experience. Winners of this award display exceptional
coaching, mentoring, leadership, management skills, achieve
particularly outstanding performance results in their programs, and
possess great potential for continued success in military MWR. The
award provides an incentive for young managers to aspire to great
achievement in military MWR/Services early in their careers. Each
Service has an award winner.
   b. Roy C. Olson Award: Presented each year to an MWR professional
who exemplifies the high quality of standards set by the awards
namesake while serving in the MWR programs of the Marine Corps and
the Navy. The award winner is selected from nominees of all five
Services based on outstanding contributions to MWR, demonstrated
leadership, professionalism, dedication, innovative skills, and
genuine caring.
   c. MWR Leadership Award: This award is designed to recognize
senior officials who have consistently demonstrated exceptional
leadership skills and who make particularly significant contributions
to the improvement of MWR programs.
   d. IMCEA Hall of Fame: Presented each year to an IMCEA member.
Inductees have achieved major successes within the military MWR
profession through consistent exemplary leadership, innovation,
creativity, dedication, caring, and resourcefulness. They are proven
leaders in their field and their contributions to Service personnel
and their families worldwide are unmatched by their peers.
   e. The Frederick J. McKenney Lifetime Spirit Award: In honor of
Frederick J. McKenney, who passed away in 2014, this annual award
recognizes hospitality professionals who have overcome personal and
professional adversity and/or challenges while achieving success in
their respective MWR programs over a course of a career.
   f. IMCEA and Paul Reece Founders Award: Presented annually to
those individuals who have been active in establishing IMCEA chapters
and who have been responsible for IMCEA membership recruitment.
   g. Robert W. Brunsman Memorial Scholarship: Open to all IMCEA
MWR/Services Professional Members in good standing who are currently
enrolled in a higher learning institution, whether in-class or
   h. Roy C. and Dorothy Jean Olson Memorial Scholarship: Open to
family members of current IMCEA Professional Members who are
graduating from high school and continuing their education, or who
are already enrolled in college.
2. This year's award submissions are required electronically. A copy
of the nomination form may be obtained at the IMCEA web site: Submit electronic nominations to CSC no later
than 20 September 2021. Your email date will document receipt date.
Email nominations must include command approval.
3. Those individuals meeting the criteria for the IMCEA scholarships
may obtain scholarship application information at the IMCEA web site
and forward completed applications to the address provided.
4. Should you have any questions about these awards, please call
Mr. Michael Criswell, MWR specialist, at 757-842-4926.
5. Released by: RDML S. N. Gilreath, Commander,
CG Personnel Service Center. The Service Center for
Our Most Important Resource - Our People.
6. Internet release authorized.