In a First for Baseball, All 30 Teams Will Play on Opening Day

Registered United States Census Bureau Logo

America Counts: Stories Behind the Numbers

In a First for Baseball All 30 Teams Will Play on Opening Day

The 15 American League and 15 National League teams are scheduled to play 15 games this Thursday — the earliest opening day ever.

Read More

The national pastime comes to us courtesy of 29 teams from 25 metropolitan areas across the United States and one team from Canada (Toronto).

The four metro areas with two teams each are New York, Los Angeles, Chicago — the nation’s three most populous — and San Francisco-Oakland (the 12th most populous).

Each league has five teams in three divisions: East, Central and West as shown on the map below.

Baseball Is Back! All 30 Teams Play on Opening Day

Share This

About America Counts

America Counts tells the stories behind the numbers in a new inviting way. It features stories on various topics such as families, housing, employment, business, education, the economy, emergency preparedness, and population. Contact our Public Information Office for media inquiries or interviews.