News from the Leader of the LGA Labour Group - 3 July 2017

Having trouble viewing this email? View this as a web page

Labour Group Logo with amended red for eBulletin

3 July 2017

Cllr Nick Forbes

News from the Leader of the LGA Labour Group

Cllr Nick Forbes
Leader of the LGA Labour Group

Visit our website
Follow us on Twitter @LGA_Labour
Like our Facebook page 

Introduction from the new Head of the LGA Labour Group Office, Pete Robbins

I am delighted to have begun work as the new Head of the LGA Labour Group Office, and look forward to working with you all and supporting Labour’s local government team.

I am proud to have a strong local government background having been a Councillor, Cabinet Member, and Peer Mentor – and a proud graduate of the LGA Next Generation programme. I have also worked in Parliament, in the trade union movement, as an advisor to Tessa Jowell, and most recently for the directly elected Mayor of Tower Hamlets.

Morgan McSweeney has left very big shoes for me to fill as Head of the Labour Group Office, but I am looking forward to the challenge – and I look forward to meeting as many of you as possible at the LGA Conference next week and over the coming months.

LGA Annual Conference 2017: Tuesday 4 – Thursday 6 July

The Labour Group Office will be at the LGA Annual Conference from Monday 3 July until Thursday 6 July 2017. Please note, we will have limited access to emails for the duration of the conference and will respond upon our return.

Please see below for Political Group Meetings and Events:

Tuesday 4 July
LGA Labour Group AGM
10.00 – 11.30
Hall 4, ICC
Cllr Nick Forbes
Lord Roy Kennedy, Shadow Communities and Local Government Minister

LGA Labour Group Women’s Network Meeting
Soprano Room, Hyatt Regency
Cllr Helen Holland
Cllr Sue Murphy
Cllr Sharon Taylor
Chair: Cllr Claire Kober

Wednesday 5 July
LGA Labour Group Meeting
14.00 – 15.00
Hall 4, ICC
Andrew Gwynne MP, Shadow Secretary of State for Local Government
Iain McNicol, General Secretary, Labour Party
Cllr Alice Perry, Labour Party NEC

Labour Group social
19.30 – 22.30
19.30 Drinks Reception
20.00 Dinner
Includes hot buffet dinner and bar
Open to all Labour Councillors attending conference, free of charge.

Thursday 6 July
LGA Labour Group Meeting
12.05 – 12.50
Hall 4, ICC
Cllr Nick Forbes
Cllr Graham Chapman
Jim McMahon MP

Main Plenary
13.00 – 13.30
Hall 1, ICC
Speaker: Andrew Gwynne MP, Shadow Secretary of State for Local Government
Chair: Cllr Nick Forbes

The full Conference agenda can be found here.

LGA Labour Group Executive Team 2017/18 Elections

The ballot process for the contested LGA Labour Group Executive Team 2017/18 positions has now closed.

Three positions were contested – Deputy Leader, Eastern Regional Representative and East Midlands Regional Representative. Please see below for the results:

LGA Labour Group deputy leader

Cllr Michael Payne (Gedling& Nottinghamshire) is elected as Deputy Leader.

LGA Labour Group Eastern Regional Representative

Cllr Jon Clempner (Harlow) is elected as Eastern Regional Representative.

LGA Labour Group East Midlands Regional Representative

Cllr Alan Rhodes (Nottinghamshire) is elected as East Midlands Regional Representative.

Please see below for the full list of LGA Labour Group Executive Team positions (please note, those highlighted are newly elected to their positions):

LGA Labour Group position

LGA Labour Group Boards self-nominations 2017/18

The nomination process for appointments to the LGA Boards 2017/18 is now open.

To nominate yourself for a position on an LGA Policy Board, the LGA Leadership Board, International Body or a Workforce Employer Body members are required to complete an application form and submit it with a 250 word supporting statement. It is important to outline all your experience and areas of interest to enable us to make the most effective appointments to policy leadership positions at the LGA.

We are also currently looking for Alternate Members for the Committee of the Regions and two Full Members for the Congress of the Council of Europe. If you would like to be considered for these positions, please note this on your form by putting an ‘X’ next to International Bodies.

You will find the application form here.

We will require consent from your Group Leader - a consent form is attached with this pack.

Nominations will close at 17.00 on Friday 7 July 2017. Results will be announced on Monday 31 July 2017.

Please note: We are only able to accept nominations by email. Please email your completed self-nomination form to  

Next Generation Programme

The Next Generation Programme for 2017-18 opens today for applications. The programme offers ambitious and talented councillors an unparalleled political development opportunity, uniquely developed within party political traditions and with party political experts. Next Generation aims to support and encourage councillors to be bold and confident political leaders, progress in your political career and be champions of local government.

To apply to be part of the Next Generation you will need to have been a councillor for at least one year as well as be a Group Leader, Portfolio Shadow, Chair of Scrutiny, Portfolio Holder or Service Committee Chair – or your Group Leader agrees that you are likely to be so within a year. There is a competitive application process, which closes on Monday 24 July 2017.  You will need sign off from you Group Leader to apply.

The programme will run over the weekends of, 28/29 October 2/3 December, and 21/22 January at venues in London, Coventry and Manchester.  Participants must be able to attend all of the three weekends.

There is no cost to attend the programme, however attendees must cover their own travel costs. If you would like further information about the programme, please email Martin Angus.

To apply, please complete the online form.


There were 4 by-elections on Thursday 29 June 2017:

Durham UA, Dawdon
LAB: 52.3% (+6.2)
SC: 47.7% (+10.8)
Labour hold

Waltham Forest LB, William Morris
LAB 68.4% (+11.5)
GRN 18.6% (+1.8)
CON 13.0% (+6.2)
LDEM NA (-7.4)
TUSC NA (-4.3)
UKIP NA (-7.8)
Labour Hold

West Lancashire BC, Derby
OWL: 42.4% (+42.4)
LAB: 35.8% (+0.6)
CON: 21.8% (-28.3)
Independent gain from Conservative  

Eastleigh BC, Hedge End Grange Park
LDEM 56.5% (+15.5)
CON 26.7% (-10.9)
LAB 12.2% (+0.9)
GRN 3.5% (+3.5)

UKIP 1.2% (-9.0)
Lib Dem hold

There are no by-elections taking place on Thursday 6 July 2017