Mayor's Milk Initiative to resume Thursday

Dallas City News Releases I Having trouble viewing this email? View it as a Web page.

Office of the Mayor, Eric Johnson

June 3, 2020

Tristan Hallman
Chief of Policy and Communications | 469.785.1421

Mayor's Milk Initiative to resume Thursday

DALLAS — The Mayor's Milk Initiative will resume Thursday with distributions at schools in far east Dallas and South Dallas.

The initiative is a partnership between Mayor Eric Johnson, Dallas-based Borden Dairy, Dallas ISD, and local faith leaders.

Thus far, the Mayor’s Milk Initiative has distributed 12,595 gallons of 2% Borden Dairy white milk and approximately 230,000 pounds of food provided by the North Texas Food Bank. Overall, more than 6,400 families — a total of more than 24,000 people — have been helped through the effort.

Volunteers have also distributed Census fliers at the sites.

“We know we still have a great deal of need in Dallas after the COVID-19 pandemic created and exacerbated economic distress in our communities,” Mayor Johnson said. “I am pleased to resume the Mayor’s Milk Initiative so that we can continue to make a difference in the lives of our residents who are in need during this crisis.”

The following sites will be open on Thursday:

  • George W. Truett Elementary (1811 Gross Rd., Dallas, TX 75228)
    • 10 a.m. - 12 p.m.
  • Paul L. Dunbar Learning Center (4200 Metropolitan Ave., Dallas, TX 75210)
    • 3 p.m. - 6 p.m.

The full list of locations and times for other upcoming distributions can be found here.

The Mayor’s Milk Initiative is made possible by the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s new Farmers to Families Food Box Program, which is part of the Coronavirus Farm Assistance Program (CFAP). Borden Dairy received the USDA’s largest award under the Farmers to Families Food Box Program and plans to distribute a total of 700 million servings of milk in the Southeast, Southwest and Midwest regions, including Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee and Texas.

For more information on the initiative, click here.