Representative David Brock Smith appointed by Governor Brown to the Opioid Epidemic Task Force

David Brock Smith

Representative David Brock Smith appointed by Governor Brown to the Opioid Epidemic Task Force


September 20, 2017

CONTACT:    Shelia Megson
Chief of Staff

SALEM – Representative David Brock Smith (R-Port Orford) has been appointed by Governor Kate Brown to the Opioid Epidemic Task Force. Rep. Brock Smith will join House Majority Leader Jennifer Williamson, Senator Elizabeth Steiner Hayward and Senator Jeff Kruse as the four Oregon State Legislators to work with a broad coalition of stakeholders, including Doctors, Healthcare Workers, Prevention Specialists and others as a member of the task force.

Recent studies by the Oregon Health Authority's Public Health Division have concluded that Oregon has one of the highest rates of prescription opioid misuse in the nation. More drug poisoning deaths involve prescription opioids than any other type of drug, including alcohol, methamphetamines, heroin and cocaine. An average of three Oregonians die every week from prescription opioid overdose, and many more develop an opioid use disorder. HB 3440, that passed unanimously in both legislative chambers during the 2017 Session, assists in helping address issues regarding opioid abuse.

“Across Oregon, the opioid crisis is tearing families apart,” Governor Brown said. “It will take the efforts of all branches of government, state agencies, advocates, and families to prevent Oregonians from becoming future victims of opioid misuse.” Governor Brown convened a Task Force of individuals to build consensus on further recommendations to address this critical issue for Oregon families.

“I’m honored to have been chosen to serve on the Opioid Epidemic Task Force with my skilled legislative colleagues and other professionals to address this critical issue facing my constituents and those across the Oregon,” said Rep. Brock Smith. “I have seen first hand the lives and families destroyed by opioid abuse, and appreciate my fellow stakeholders’ efforts as we move forward with solutions."

The first meeting of the Task Force was held during Legislative Days at the Capitol on Tuesday, September 19. The Task Force will meet again in the beginning of October and continue discussions towards solutions.


Representative David Brock Smith represents House District 1, which includes Curry, Coos, Douglas & Josephine Counties. This press release and an archive of previous press releases issued by Rep. David Brock Smith’s office are available on the web at:

Representative David Brock Smith

House District 1
Curry, Coos, Douglas & Josephine Counties
Capitol Phone: 503-986-1401
Capitol Address: 900 Court St. NE, H-379, Salem, Oregon 97301