State Commission Honors Sandoval and Jacobson, Welcomes Thompson, Announces Warren’s New Role

Having trouble viewing this email? View it as a Web page.


DLCD logo






Sadie Carney, 503-383-6648,

State Commission Honors Sandoval and Jacobson, Welcomes Thompson, Announces Warren’s New Role

SALEM – At its November 2-3, 2023, meeting, the Land Conservation and Development Commission (LCDC or commission) will recognize departing commissioner Gerard Sandoval for service to the commission. Dr. Sandoval served on the commission for a four-year term, bringing expertise in urban planning, environmental sustainability, and equity. A tenured professor in the School of Planning, Public Policy, and Management at the University of Oregon, Sandoval will continue his leadership role at the University, his research in community development, redevelopment in low-income neighborhoods and engagement with migrant communities.

“Commissioner Sandoval reveals new ways of thinking simply by asking the right questions,” said Commission Chair, Anyeley Hallová. “I appreciate his passion for equitable outcomes and his shared wisdom on planning and housing solutions. He has our deep gratitude.”

Also departing the commission is Commissioner Kaety Jacobson who was appointed to a second commission term in June 2022. Commissioner Jacobson is a county commissioner in Lincoln County who was born and raised in a commercial fishing family. Kaety’s passion and energy in recent years have been focused on wildfire recovery in Lincoln County communities after the Echo Mountain Complex fire burned 2,500 acres and claimed 1,241 structures. Commissioner Jacobson has been instrumental in commission conversations about coastal issues, rural issues, and natural hazards planning.

“Commissioner Jacobson has been both fearless and tireless in her work on the commission and in her support of Lincoln County,” said Chair Hallová. “Her dedication to Oregon, especially as an advocate for coastal communities, shows in all her work.”

On September 29, the Oregon Senate confirmed Clatsop County Commissioner Lianne Thompson as a commissioner on the LCDC to represent Oregon’s coast. Thompson’s term began on October 5, 2023, and will end May 31, 2026. In 2026, Commissioner Thompson will be eligible for reappointment of another full four-year term. She is a three-times-elected Clatsop County Commissioner, and is active in several community organizations, including the Community Emergency Response Team. She also serves in a leadership capacity with the Association of Oregon Counties and serves on the State Emergency Response Commission.

In her work with the Association of Counties over the last nine years, she is known for seeking common ground. Thompson is known for her fair decisions and open-minded approach to problem solving.

At Commissioner Thompson’s Senate confirmation hearing, Senator Hansell shared that “Because of my background in county government, as a former Umatilla County Commissioner, I have received calls from many of Commissioner Thompson's colleagues throughout the state, letting me know she would be a very good appointee to this board [sic].”

“I am honored to be confirmed as a commissioner on the Land Conservation and Development Commission,” said Thompson. “I’m grateful to the voters who support me, my team and fellow commissioners in Clatsop County, and to Senator Suzanne Weber and Cyrus Javadi for their confidence and support.”   

Legislators also confirmed Stuart Warren to represent the Willamette Valley region. Commissioner Warren has served on the commission since February 2020 in his capacity as a Southern Oregon representative to the commission. Born and raised in southern Oregon, Warren is a former small business owner and previously served on the Pheonix, Oregon City Council. The 2020 Alameda Fire had a devastating impact on the region he served, displacing many neighbors, destroying part of his hometown, and impacting Latino families in a disproportionate way. During the fire recovery effort, Stuart decided to pursue public service full-time. He received a Master’s in Community and Regional Planning from the University of Oregon this year and is now employed as an Associate Planner in Eugene, Oregon. His appointment to the Willamette Valley commission seat began October 2, 2023, and will end November 30, 2027.

“I’m delighted with the opportunity to continue my service to the commission,” said Warren. “The talent, dedication, and spirit of service my colleagues bring to our work as a commissioners remains inspiring every day.”

“We are so excited to retain Commissioner Warren,” said Vice-Chair Nick Lelack. “Offering direction to the department and deciding on land use matters takes an incredible amount of thought and preparation. His lived experience, education, and institutional knowledge are a valuable asset to Oregon.”

DLCD Director Brenda Bateman is enthusiastic. “We have so much work to do,” she said. “I could not be more grateful to these talented and hard-working commissioners for volunteering their service to our agency and the state.”


Oregon’s statewide land use planning program —originated in 1973 under Senate Bill 100 — protects farm and forest lands, conserves natural resources, promotes livable communities, facilitates orderly and efficient development, helps coordination among local governments, and enables community engagement.  

The program affords all Oregonians predictability and sustainability to the development process by ensuring allocation of urban land for industrial, commercial, and housing development.   The Department of Land Conservation and Development (DLCD) administers the program. A seven-member volunteer citizen board known as the Land Conservation and Development Commission (LCDC) guides DLCD.

Under the program, all cities and counties have adopted comprehensive plans that meet mandatory state standards. The standards are 19 Statewide Planning Goals that address land use, development, housing, transportation, and conservation of natural resources. Technical assistance in the form of grants to local jurisdictions is a key element of the program.