Hofmeister congratulates students chosen for U.S. Senate Youth Program

Having trouble viewing this email? View it as a Web page.
Press Release State Seal

Steffie Corcoran
Director of Communications
(405) 522-5324, c: (405) 312-9558

Deana Silk
Deputy Director of Communications
(405) 521-3371, c: (405) 760-7881

Erin Corbin
Communications Specialist
(405) 521-3375, c: (405) 650-0325


Hofmeister congratulates students chosen for U.S. Senate Youth Program

OKLAHOMA CITY (Feb. 8, 2019) – Two Oklahoma high school students have been named this year’s state delegates to the 57th annual U.S. Senate Youth Program (USSYP), which brings together outstanding student leaders from every state for a week-long trip to the nation’s capital.

Kate Carpenter from Stillwater High School and Nathan Dethloff from Lone Grove High School will join 102 other delegates from around the country March 2-9 in Washington D.C.

“Kate and Nathan’s incredible academic achievements and records of service within their local communities exemplify student excellence in Oklahoma,” said Joy Hofmeister, State Superintendent of Public Instruction. “I applaud their accomplishments and am delighted they will be representing Oklahoma on the national stage.”

Kate Carpenter, Nathan Dethloff

Kate Carpenter, left, of Stillwater High School and Nathan Dethloff of Lone Grove High School are this year's Oklahoma delegates to the U.S. Senate Youth Program.

Carpenter has been a member of Hofmeister’s Student Advisory Council since 2018 and serves as her school’s Student Council president. She has attended American Legion Auxiliary Girls State and Girls Nation and serves on the American Red Cross NWOK Board of Directors. Kate also participates in Youth and Government as speaker of the house and lieutenant governor and serves as her school mascot, Peter Pioneer. She plans to major in communications and minor in political science with the hopes of running for public office one day.

Dethloff serves as his school’s National Honor Society president. He is also a student council representative, member of Ardmore Youth Leadership and a page for the Oklahoma House of Representatives. Nathan also participates in basketball, cross country and the academic team. His hobbies include swimming, playing guitar, reading and all things government. Nathan plans to major in economics with an emphasis in pre-law.

Jenna Beth Steadman of Woodward High School and Ian Nathaniel McEntire of Duncan High School were chosen as alternates.

During their trip to Washington D.C. this spring, Carpenter and Dethloff will attend meetings and briefings with prominent officials from every branch of government and related fields, including members of Congress, congressional staff, the President, a Supreme Court justice, leaders of cabinet agencies, an ambassador to the United States and members of the national media.

Both students were chosen by Hofmeister after a rigorous application process that adhered to high standards set by the USSYP.

The USSYP has been sponsored by the U.S. Senate and fully funded by the Hearst Foundation since its inception in 1962. The stated goal of USSYP is “to increase young Americans’ understanding of the interrelationships of the three branches of government, learn the caliber and responsibilities of federally elected and appointed officials and emphasize the vital importance of democratic decision making not only for America but people around the world.”

Carpenter and Dethloff will also receive a $10,000 undergraduate college scholarship with encouragement to continue their studies in government, history and public affairs.