Public Safety Leadership Academy class graduates

Having trouble viewing this email? View it as a Web page.

October 2019 Release header

For Immediate Release: June 10, 2022
Contact: Lieutenant Nathan E. Dennis (614) 752-2792

Public Safety Leadership Academy class graduates

COLUMBUS - The ninth Public Safety Leadership Academy class graduated 30 law enforcement leaders today after 11 weeks of accredited, college-level training through a partnership with The Ohio State University John Glenn College of Public Affairs. The training was hosted at the Patrol’s Training Academy and was offered at no cost to agencies through casino tax revenue distributed to the Ohio Department of Public Safety’s Office of Criminal Justice Services for the purpose of supporting law enforcement training efforts.

During today’s ceremony, Ohio State Highway Patrol Colonel Richard S. Fambro provided remarks and Mark Weaver of Communications Counsel addressed the graduates.

Graduates learned skills necessary to manage any division within a law enforcement agency, demonstrated preparedness to take on additional leadership responsibilities, and earned 10 hours of academic credit, along with a certificate in Senior Leadership through The Ohio State University John Glenn College of Public Affairs. The specialized curriculum focuses on leadership, community engagement, public administration and contemporary issues in policing.

Graduates had the opportunity to meet with executive law enforcement officials to discuss how to build positive relations with law enforcement in Ohio and deal with future challenges within the field. Graduates also attended classes on overcoming the unique mental stressors of possible violence and best practices for law enforcement managers who deal with employees struggling with addiction issues.

During National Police Week, graduates traveled to Washington, D.C. and the Antietam National Battlefield in Sharpsburg, Md., where they toured sites that helped shape our nation’s leaders as well as attended training at the National Museum of African American History and Culture. 

As part of a community outreach effort, graduates collected 700 canned food items and donated the food to the Lower Lights Community Church’s food bank located in the Franklinton neighborhood in Columbus. 


Editor’s Note: Class Roster Attached


Graduate Name                                                                       Department

Captain Chris Allen                                                       Clermont County Sheriff's Office

Lieutenant Stephen Clark                                              Dayton Police Department

Lieutenant Shawn Cook                                                Ohio State Highway Patrol

Sergeant Adam Cox                                                       Bowling Green Police Division

Sergeant Aaron Dennis                                                  Franklin County Sheriff's Office

Sergeant Victor DiNardo                                               Franklin County Sheriff's Office

Lieutenant Cliffton Dowell                                           Ohio State Highway Patrol

Lieutenant Allison Elliott                                              Springfield Police Division

Sergeant Robert Haislop                                               Ohio State Highway Patrol

*Assistant Agent-in-Charge Michael Hakeos Jr.          Ohio Investigative Unit

Sergeant Paul Hatfield                                                  Johnstown Police Department

Sergeant Todd Henry                                                    Ohio State Highway Patrol

Sergeant James Hern                                                    Fairborn Police Department

Lieutenant Charles Jordan                                            Ohio State Highway Patrol

Lieutenant James Kotronis                                           Kettering Health Police Department

Commander Jeff Lokai                                                 Columbus Division of Police

Lieutenant Chad Maines                                               Ohio State Highway Patrol

Captain Scott McKnight                                               Mount Vernon Police Department

Staff Lieutenant Tiffiany Meeks                                   Ohio State Highway Patrol

Sergeant Aaron Meyer                                                  Fairfield Police Department

Sergeant Justin Powell                                                  Ohio State Highway Patrol

Lieutenant Philip Robinson                                          Ohio State Highway Patrol

Lieutenant Gregory Sanderson                                     Columbus Division of Police

Lieutenant Kyle Scholl                                                 Columbus Division of Police

Sergeant Stephen Shaw                                                 Xenia Police Division

Sergeant Nathan Simpson                                             Medina Police Department

Lieutenant Ty Skaggs                                                   Ohio State Highway Patrol

Lieutenant David Smith                                                Ohio State Highway Patrol

Sergeant Jeremy Vacca                                                 Pickerington Police Department

Sergeant Brad Wolfe                                                     Fairfield Police Department


* Denotes Class Speaker

                                                       #                      #                      #



PSLA 2022