Public Safety Leadership Academy class graduates

Having trouble viewing this email? View it as a Web page.

October 2019 Release header

For Immediate Release: May 28, 2021

Contact: Lieutenant Tiffiany L. Meeks (614) 752-2792

Public Safety Leadership Academy class graduates

COLUMBUS - The eighth Public Safety Leadership Academy class graduated 31 law enforcement leaders today after 10 weeks of accredited, college-level training through a partnership with The Ohio State University – John Glenn College of Public Affairs. The training was hosted at the Patrol’s Training Academy and offered at no cost to agencies through casino tax revenue distributed to the Ohio Department of Public Safety’s Office of Criminal Justice Services for the purpose of supporting law enforcement training efforts.

During today’s ceremony, Ohio State Highway Patrol Colonel Richard S. Fambro provided remarks and Delaware County Sheriff Russell L. Martin addressed the graduates.

Graduates received 10 semester hours of academic credit, along with a certificate in Senior Leadership through The Ohio State University – John Glenn College of Public Affairs. The specialized curriculum completed by the graduates is part of a carefully managed course with content in the areas of leadership and ethics; interpersonal and organizational communication; public management; organizational culture and ethics; human resources management; budgeting; and organizational behavior in law enforcement.

In addition, graduates also attended enrichment discussions, which were executive level development seminars. Distinguished speakers presented on topics such as overcoming the unique mental stressors of possible violence, as well as best practices for law enforcement who deal with employees struggling with addiction issues. Graduates also had the opportunity to meet with executive law enforcement officials to discuss how to build positive relations with law enforcement in Ohio and how to deal with future challenges in the field.

As part of a community outreach effort, graduates collected over 600 can food items and donated the food to the Lower Lights Community Food Bank located in the Franklinton neighborhood in Columbus. 

Editor’s Note: Class Roster Attached

Graduate Name                                                          Department

Sergeant Scott Aker                                                      Ohio State Highway Patrol

Lieutenant Michael Akers                                             Ohio State Highway Patrol

Lieutenant Ricardo Alonso                                            Ohio State Highway Patrol

Lieutenant Farin Barber                                                Ohio University Police Department

Sergeant Lori Cresap                                                    Fairfield Police Department

Sergeant Michael Curtis                                                Springfield Division of Police

Lieutenant Steven Daugherty                                        Ohio State Highway Patrol

Sergeant Jonathan Davis                                               Ohio State Highway Patrol

*Lieutenant Mark Denner                                             Columbus Police Department

Sergeant Rebecca Ervin                                                Fairfield Police Department

Sergeant Lon Etchison                                                  Xenia Division of Police

Sergeant Seth Fry                                                         Norwalk Police Department

Sergeant Michael Fuduric                                             Mentor Police Department

Captain James Fulton                                                    Norwalk Police Department

Sergeant Daniel Funk                                                   Greene County Sheriff's Office

Sergeant Heather Galli                                                  Upper Arlington Division of Police

Sergeant Christina Hayes                                              Ohio State Highway Patrol

Lieutenant Robert Hayslip                                            Ohio State Highway Patrol

Lieutenant Kevin Hornbeck                                          Washington County Sheriff's Office

Lieutenant Amy Ivy                                                      Ohio State Highway Patrol

Sergeant Nathaniel Marietta                                          Granville Police Department

Sergeant John McGuire                                                 Fairborn Police Department

Lieutenant Michael Meek                                             Ohio University Police Department

Sergeant Shaun Mikicic                                                Pickerington Police Department

Lieutenant Brian Newsome                                           Morrow County Sheriff's Office

Staff Sergeant Scott Phillips                                          Seville Police Department

Sergeant Scott Schmoll                                                 Medina County Sheriff's Office

Sergeant Cory Searle                                                    Montville Township Police Department

Sergeant Shawn Sumner                                               Beavercreek Police Department

Lieutenant Brian Vail                                                   Ohio State Highway Patrol

AAIC Sarah Valasek                                                    Ohio Investigative Unit

 * Denotes Class Speaker

 #                                  #                                      #