Ohio Receives Federal Disaster Declaration for February Flooding

Having trouble viewing this email? View it as a Web page.

EMA Media Release header

For Immediate Release: April 17, 2018



State, Local Entities Deemed Eligible for Federal Funds 

COLUMBUS Local governments, state agencies and certain private non-profit organizations in 18 Ohio counties affected by February flooding are now eligible for federal funds to help pay for damage repair and extra costs they incurred as a result of the severe storms and flooding that affected southern Ohio. The federal funds have been made available as a result of the President granting Gov. John R. Kasich’s request for a federal disaster declaration.

The funds will be provided through FEMA’s Public Assistance Program, which repays local governments for eligible storm-related response and recovery efforts including debris removal, emergency protective measures and the repair, replacement or restoration of damaged infrastructure.

Kasich issued an emergency proclamation Feb. 24. A joint preliminary damage assessment, conducted by local, state and federal emergency management officials in mid-March, documented damages to county, village and township roads, bridges and public buildings totaling $44 million.

The Ohio Emergency Management Agency (Ohio EMA) will disburse the federal funds upon receipt and will process all required documentation. This declaration authorization also makes statewide funding available through the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program. Representatives from Ohio EMA will meet with local officials to further explain the application process.

Counties covered in this declaration include; Adams, Athens, Belmont, Brown, Columbiana, Gallia, Hamilton, Jackson, Lawrence, Meigs, Monroe, Muskingum, Noble, Perry, Pike, Scioto, Vinton and Washington counties.