NC Teacher of the Year named Thursday, April 6

Having trouble viewing this email? View it as a Web page.

NCDPI News Release

For immediate release

April 4, 2017



2017 Teacher of the Year to be Announced Thursday


The 2017 Burroughs Wellcome Fund North Carolina Teacher of the Year will be announced Thursday, April 6, during a luncheon at The Umstead, 100 Woodland Pond Drive, Cary. 

The actual announcement is expected to take place around 1:45 p.m.


Finalists for the award are:

  • Northeast: Amy Parker, Hertford Grammar (Perquimans County Schools);
  • Southeast: Lisa Godwin, Dixon Elementary (Onslow County Schools);
  • North Central: Miles Macleod, Heritage High (Wake County Schools);
  • Sandhills: Juandalynn Ray, Sampson Middle (Clinton City Schools);
  • Piedmont-Triad: Adam Reeder, Asheboro High (Asheboro City Schools);
  • Southwest: Anthony Johnson, Jr., Isenberg Elementary (Rowan-Salisbury Schools);
  • Northwest: Carrie Franklin, Glenwood Elementary (McDowell County Schools);
  • Western: Leslie Schoof, Madison Early College High (Madison County Schools); and
  • Charter Schools: Deborah Brown, Research Triangle High (Research Triangle Park).


The North Carolina Teacher of the Year will spend next school year traveling the state as an ambassador for the teaching profession. He or she will receive the use of a state vehicle for one year, a one-year leased vehicle from Flow Automotive, LLC, the opportunity to attend a seminar at the NC Center for the Advancement of Teaching, a mobile device from Lenovo valued at approximately $1,600, an engraved vase, a one-time cash award of $7,500, a trip to the National Teacher of the Year Conference and International Space Camp, and the opportunity to travel abroad through an endowment sponsored by Go Global NC.  


North Carolina has recognized outstanding teachers through its Teacher of the Year program since 1970. For more information on North Carolina’s Teacher of the Year recognition program, visit the program’s website or contact the NCDPI Communications division at 919-807-3450.