EAIC to hold Organizational Meeting July 22

View as a webpage  /  Share

Legislative Meeting Notice

Who: Economic Affairs Interim Committee

When: Thursday, July 22 at 9:30 a.m.

Where: State Capitol Room 152

The Legislature's Economic Affairs Interim Committee (EAIC) will hold its first meeting of the interim on Thursday, July 22, 2021. The meeting will be in Room 152 of the State Capitol in Helena, starting at 9:30 a.m.

In this organizational meeting, the committee will adopt rules, elect officers, review a draft work plan to prioritize interim activities, and hear introductions and updates from the Department of Agriculture, Department of Livestock, and the Cannabis Control Division of the Department of Revenue.

The prioritization of interim activities will include discussion on the studies assigned to the EAIC by Legislative Council:

  • HJ 48 - Study of Facial Recognition Technology
  • HJ 49 - Study of Benefits Cliffs in Public Assistance Programs
  • SJ 31 - Study Implementation of Montana's Recreational Marijuana Program

Members of the public may attend and offer comment in person or may offer public comment remotely via Zoom. The public may also submit written public comment in advance of the meeting. The links for submitting written public comment and for signing up to testify remotely are available on the committee's website at https://leg.mt.gov/committees/interim/eaic/, along with other meeting materials.

Senate members appointed to the committee are: Kenneth Bogner, R-Miles City; Carlie Boland, D-Great Falls; Jason Ellsworth, R-Hamilton; and Shane Morigeau, D-Missoula.

House members appointed to the committee are: Alice Buckley, D-Bozeman; Derek Harvey, D-Butte; Joshua Kassmier, R-Fort Benton; Brandon Ler, R-Savage; Mark Noland, R-Big Fork; and Katie Sullivan, D-Missoula.