FEMA expands Missouri disaster declaration


Click to edit this placeholder text.


More Missouri residents and local governments will receive federal disaster assistance

Following FEMA’s approval of Gov. Greitens’ request to expand the spring flooding disaster declaration, FEMA and SEMA are working quickly to identify locations to establish Disaster Recovery Centers. DRCs offer in-person FEMA and U.S. Small Business Administration assistance to disaster survivors.

Friday morning, Gov. Eric Greitens announced more Missouri homeowners, renters and businesses, and local government agencies can receive vital federal disaster assistance after the Federal Emergency Management Agency approved his request to expand the federal disaster declaration for spring flooding and severe storms in Missouri.

“This expansion of the federal disaster declaration means more Missouri families and communities will receive critical assistance as they recover from historic flooding that left some with unprecedented clean up and recovery expenses,” Gov. Greitens said. “I urge Missourians to act quickly and apply to FEMA so they can take advantage of this opportunity to advance Missouri’s recovery across the state.”

Assistance to Individuals and Families

  • FEMA has approved the Governor’s request to expand assistance to eligible homeowners, renters and businesses in Christian, Crawford, Dent, Greene, Iron, Ste. Genevieve, Wayne and Wright counties. 
  • Homeowners and renters who sustained damage or losses due to the flooding and severe storms can register for disaster assistance by calling the FEMA toll-free at 800-621-3362, from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. seven days a week, or by going online to www.DisasterAssistance.gov
  • Homeowners, renters and businesses are urged to apply quickly as the FEMA deadline to apply for assistance is Aug. 1.

The State Emergency Management Agency is working with FEMA to identify locations in which FEMA will operate Disaster Recovery Centers to assist flooding survivors.

Assistance to Local Government Agencies, Nonprofits for Infrastructure Repairs and Response Costs

  • Following FEMA’s approval of Gov. Greitens’ request, local governments and nonprofit agencies in Boone, Cape Girardeau, Mississippi, New Madrid, Pemiscot, Ste. Genevieve and Scott counties can now request federal assistance for repair and replacement expenses for roads, bridges and infrastructure, and emergency response costs.
  • The deadline for government agencies and nonprofits in these seven counties to file Requests for Public Assistance for applicants in seven newly designated counties is Aug. 12.

orange bar

  • In all, more than $71 million in payments – including FEMA grants, National Flood Insurance Program payments to policyholders and U.S. Small Business Administration low-interest loans – has now flowed into Missouri, helping fuel the recovery of Missouri families. 
  • FEMA has made more than $10.6 million in grant payments for emergency home repairs, rental assistance, the replacement of essential personal property and other eligible expenses to more than 1,600 disaster survivors.
  • The U.S. Small Business Administration has approved over $10.1 million in low-interest disaster loans to more than 170 homeowners, renters and businesses.
  • NFIP has made payments totaling nearly $51 million to 1,002 Missouri policyholders. NFIP continues to process more than 300 additional claims.
  • According to NFIP, following this spring’s flooding, $19 million was paid to policyholders before the federal disaster was declared (flood insurance pays even when there is no disaster declaration) while 26 percent of NFIP claims filed were not in a Special Flood Hazard Area. This demonstrates the value of flood insurance even for homeowners who are not in the highest flood risk areas. Read more on the NFIP program here
  • The deadline for homeowners and renters to apply for FEMA and SBA assistance is Aug. 1. Do not miss your opportunity to apply. Apply for federal assistance 24/7 at DisasterAssistance.gov or call 800-621-3362.
  • SEMA is now working to schedule regional state Applicant Briefings to inform county and municipal governments; public water, sewer and other special districts; and nonprofit agencies of the FEMA Public Assistance application process. Meeting notifications will be made once the briefing schedule has been set.
  • Through Thursday, July 13, more than 230 local governments; road, sewer public water districts and other special districts; and nonprofits filed Request for Federal Assistance with the SEMA. FEMA reimburses 75 percent of eligible expenses for infrastructure repairs and replacement and emergency response costs. FEMA representatives have already begun meeting with applicants. More information is available here.
  • The Missouri Housing Development Commission will expand eligible use of disaster funds to include mortgage assistance, short term rental assistance, and home repair.
  • Disaster Unemployment Assistance is now available in Christian, Crawford, Dent, Greene, Iron, Ste. Genevieve, Wayne and Wright counties because of FEMA designation of those counties in the disaster declaration. Claimants must file by Aug. 14 by calling their Regional Claims Center Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. - 5 p.m., or online at uinteract.labor.mo.gov. Unemployed individuals outside of these counties may still be eligible for benefits under the regular unemployment insurance program and should follow the same filing procedure.    
  • The Missouri Department of Natural Resources reminds landowners who completed cost-share soil and water conservation practices that were affected by the recent flooding and heavy rains that they are eligible for reconstruction and reseeding costs. Contact your local county soil and water conservation district office to learn more or visit on.mo.gov/2ryzov3
  • Beginning July 17, 2017, all private water samples received at the Missouri State Public Health Laboratory for bacteriological testing will require the normal $10.00 handling fee in order to be approved for testing. Go to the MSPHL’s website at http://health.mo.gov/lab/privatedrinkingwater.php if your water sample is reported as bacterially unsafe.   


  • August 1: Homeowners, renters and businesses must register and apply with FEMA and the U.S. Small Business Administration for federal disaster assistance or a low-interest disaster assistance loan. 
  • August 12: Requests for Public Assistance from governments and nonprofits, in the seven newly designated counties, must be received by FEMA, after processing by SEMA.
  • February 2: Farmers from counties included in the Presidential disaster declaration are eligible for USDA FSA low-interest loans.
  • March 2: Small businesses and nonprofit organizations must apply for SBA Economic Injury Disaster Loans, which are available regardless of whether the business sustained property damage.   

    get assistancebridge work
    Work has started on the Route CC Bridge over North Fork of White River in Ozark County.

    Visit Recovery.mo.gov for more flood recovery resources. The site is updated daily.

    United Way 211 is the go-to source for 24/7 assistance with unmet flood recovery needs. Call 2-1-1 for assistance or contact 211 online at http://211helps.org

    Call FEMA’s helpline, 800-621-3362, or visit www.DisasterAssistance.gov. You have until Aug. 1 to register. The quicker you register, the quicker you can get FEMA assistance. 


    Stay up-to-date on all things recovery by subscribing to the 

    Missouri Disaster Recovery Topic.