St. Louis County Board selects Mike Jugovich as Board Chair again in 2021 

Having trouble viewing this email? View it as a Web page.

 Administration • 100 North Fifth Avenue West, Room 202 • Duluth, MN 55802

Phone: (218) 726-2450 •

Kevin Z. Gray
County Administrator




January 4, 2021

MEDIA CONTACT: Dana Kazel, Communications Manager

 218-591-2219 (cell)


St. Louis County Board selects Mike Jugovich as Board Chair again in 2021 

St. Louis County commissioners today selected Commissioner Mike Jugovich to again serve as County Board Chair for 2021. Commissioner Paul McDonald was selected Vice Chair.

Jugovich represents the Seventh District, which covers the southwestern portion of the county from Floodwood up to Hibbing and Chisholm. He has been on the County Board since 2017, and won re-election this past November after running unopposed. McDonald represents the Fourth District, which covers the entire northern half, as well as much of the eastern part of the county.


As Board Chair, Jugovich chose to maintain the same committee assignments as the previous year, while designating newly elected Commissioner Ashley Grimm as chair of Public Safety. Committee Chair assignments are as follows:


Health and Human Services - Patrick Boyle

Public Works and Transportation - Paul McDonald

Environment and Natural Resources - Keith Musolf
Finance and Budget - Keith Nelson
Public Safety and Corrections - Ashley Grimm
Central Management and Intergovernmental Relations - Frank Jewell


"I am honored to again serve the people of St. Louis County and my fellow commissioners as the Board Chair in 2021," said Commissioner Mike Jugovich. "While it's out of the ordinary, nothing has been ordinary during this pandemic, so I am pleased to have this opportunity to again serve as we move forward to hopefully brighter and healthier days in the year to come."


Interestingly, it is the first time in nearly 100 years - since Commissioner W. A. Swanstrom served as Board Chair in 1921 and 1922 - that the same commissioner has chaired the St. Louis County Board for two consecutive years.


Commissioners also approved their meeting schedule for 2021. For the first third of the year, the schedule will rotate between conference rooms in two locations - the Government Services Center - Duluth and the Public Works facility in Virginia. Both locations can better accommodate  in-person attendance, while also are equipped to allow live streaming of meetings for people to participate virtually. Beginning with the last meeting in April, and assuming Executive Orders have been lifted and the COVID-19 situation is more under control, the Board will resume its tradition of holding some meetings in locations around the county, outside of Duluth, as a way to ensure all citizens have access to attend a Board meeting. The 2021 schedule can be found online at

For more information about St. Louis County and its Board of Commissioners, call (218) 726-
2450 or visit


Mike Jugovich

Commissioner Mike Jugovich has been chosen to lead the St. Louis County Board for the second consecutive year in 2021.

Paul McDonald

Commissioner Paul McDonald has been chosen to serve as Vice-Chair of the St. Louis County Board in 2021.