Commissioner Mike Jugovich named County Board Chair for 2020

Having trouble viewing this email? View it as a Web page.

 Administration • 100 North Fifth Avenue West, Room 202 • Duluth, MN 55802

Phone: (218) 726-2450 •

Kevin Z. Gray
County Administrator



January 7, 2020

MEDIA CONTACT: Dana Kazel, Communications Manager

218-725-5049 (office) • 218-591-2219 (cell)


St. Louis County Board selects Mike Jugovich as Board Chair for 2020 

St. Louis County commissioners today selected Commissioner Mike Jugovich to serve as County Board Chair for 2020. Commissioner Beth Olson was selected Vice Chair.

Jugovich has been on the County Board since 2017. He represents the Seventh District, which covers the southwestern portion of the county from Floodwood up to Hibbing and Chisholm.


As Board Chair, Jugovich assigned commissioners to chair the following standing committees of the Board:

Health and Human Services - Patrick Boyle

Public Works and Transportation - Paul McDonald

Environment and Natural Resources - Keith Musolf
Finance and Budget - Keith Nelson
Public Safety and Corrections - Beth Olson
Central Management and Intergovernmental Relations - Frank Jewell


Jugovich also announced the creation of two subcommittees for special focus areas of concern. One will focus on rural mental health and chemical dependency, the other will focus on the joint powers agreements that the county is part of, specifically the governance and relationships


Commissioners also approved their meeting schedule for 2020. Consistent with the Board's ongoing efforts to to provide easier access to meetings for all citizens of St. Louis County, at least one meeting each month will be held in locations around the county, outside of Duluth. The 2020 schedule can be found online at

For more information about St. Louis County and its Board of Commissioners, call (218) 726-
2450 or visit

Mike Jugovich

Commissioner Mike Jugovich will serve as County Board Chair for 2020.

Beth Olson

Commissioner Beth Olson will serve as Vice Chair of the St. Louis County Board for 2020.