County Board picks Patrick Boyle as Board Chair, sets date for special election

Having trouble viewing this email? View it as a Web page.

 Administration • 100 North Fifth Avenue West, Room 202 • Duluth, MN 55802

Phone: (218) 726-2450 •

Kevin Z. Gray
County Administrator



January 8, 2019

MEDIA CONTACT: Dana Kazel, Communications Manager

218-725-5049 (office) • 218-591-2219 (cell)


St. Louis County Board selects Patrick Boyle as Board Chair, sets date for special election to fill 5th District Chair

St. Louis County commissioners today selected Commissioner Patrick Boyle to serve as County Board Chair for 2019. Commissioner Mike Jugovich was selected Vice Chair.


Boyle has been on the County Board since 2014. He was first elected in a special election to fill the remainder of the term of the late Steve O'Neil. He was re-elected in 2016. He represents the Second District, which covers the eastern portion of Duluth.


The Board started the meeting with a moment of silence in honor of former commissioner Tom Rukavina, who passed away yesterday. Commissioners then spent time sharing memories and paying tribute to him.


"He always fought so hard for kids and people in St. Louis County," said Commissioner Beth Olson. "He invested his whole heart. I respected his fight and his wisdom."


Commissioner Paul McDonald, who succeeded Rukavina on the Board, said, "Whether you agreed with him or not, you liked him. There was no better advocate, and I'm going to miss him."


Commissioner Mike Jugovich stated simply, "What a loss." He ended his comments referencing Rukavina's pride in his Croatian heritage, speaking first in Croatian and then translating, "Until we meet again. I'll miss you." 


Boyle assigned commissioners to chair the following standing committees of the Board:

Health and Human Services - Frank Jewell

Environment and Natural Resources - Keith Nelson

Public Works and Transportation  - Mike Jugovich  

Finance and Budget - Beth Olson

Public Safety and Corrections - Paul McDonald

Central Management and Intergovernmental Relations - Patrick Boyle


Commissioners also approved their meeting schedule for 2019. Consistent with the Board's ongoing efforts to to provide easier access to meetings for all citizens of St. Louis County, at least one meeting each month will be held in locations around the county, outside of Duluth. The 2019 schedule can be found online at


Meanwhile, during the Committee of the Whole meeting, commissioners gave preliminary approval to scheduling a special election to fill the vacant 5th District commissioner seat. The vacancy was created when Pete Stauber was elected to Congress. His term on the County Board runs through 2020. The Board is expected to give final approval at its next meeting, which will be January 22, in Virginia.


The resolution calls for special election dates that are consistent with state statute - May 14 for the primary election, and August 13 for the special general election. (If two or fewer candidates file, then May 14 would be the special general election.) The filing period for candidates would be February 19 through March 5.


For more information about St. Louis County and its Board of Commissioners, call (218) 726-2450 or visit



Patrick Boyle

Commissioner Patrick Boyle has been chosen the 2019 County Board Chair.

2019 County Board

The 2019 St. Louis County Board includes, L-R: Mike Jugovich, Keith Nelson, Patrick Boyle, Beth Olson, Frank Jewell and Paul McDonald. A special election will be held August 13 to fill the vacant 5th District Commissioner seat.