Frank Jewell elected chair of Minnesota Clean Water Council

Having trouble viewing this email? View it as a Web page.

Administration • 100 North Fifth Avenue West, Room 202 • Duluth, MN 55802
Phone: (218) 726-2450 •

Kevin Z. Gray
County Administrator




March 7, 2017

CONTACT: Commissioner Frank Jewell



Commissioner Frank Jewell chosen to lead MN Clean Water Council 

St. Louis County Board Chair Frank Jewell has been elected to chair the Minnesota Clean Water Council for 2017-2018. The Clean Water Council was established in 2006 to advise the Legislature and Governor on the administration and implementation of the Clean Water Legacy Act.


Jewell was appointed to the Clean Water Council in 2015 by Governor Mark Dayton, as a rural county government representative. He previously chaired the Council's Budget and Outcomes Committee. His appointment to the Council lasts until January 2019.


"I am honored to have been nominated and elected by my colleagues as chair of the Clean Water Council," said Jewell. "I look forward to working with our citizens, organizations and governments to protect and preserve Minnesota's clean water."


The Clean Water Council is responsible for reporting to the Legislature and Governor on how Clean Water Fund (CWF) dollars should be appropriated, progress on CWF activities, and future funding needs. For the 2018-19 fiscal year, the Council's recommended $220.5 million in investments, reflects its priority of providing resources to on-the-ground actions that improve and protect Minnesota’s water.




Frank Jewell