RELEASE: U.S. Secretary of Education Recognizes Eight Minnesota Schools as 2017 National Blue Ribbon Schools

Having trouble viewing this email? View it as a Web page.

department of education

For Immediate Release

Contact: Emily Bisek


September 28, 2017

Previous Announcements

U.S. Secretary of Education Recognizes Eight Minnesota Schools as 2017 National Blue Ribbon Schools

ROSEVILLE, MN – U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos today recognized eight Minnesota schools as National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2017 based on their overall academic excellence. Schools recognized as “exemplary high performing schools” are among their state’s highest performing schools, as measured by state assessments or national standardized tests.

It is important that we highlight and celebrate schools making strides to improve overall achievement for all students,” said Minnesota Department of Education Commissioner Brenda Cassellius.Every year Minnesota nominates eight schools through the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program to recognize and learn from teachers and school leaders who are eliminating barriers and creating new opportunities for their students. I’m excited to celebrate our national Blue Ribbon schools this year. “

The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and private elementary, middle and high schools where students achieve very high learning standards or are making notable improvements in closing achievement gaps. The award affirms the hard work of students, educators, families and communities in creating safe and welcoming schools where students master challenging content. The National Blue Ribbon Schools flag displayed in a school’s building is a widely recognized symbol of exemplary teaching and learning.

The U.S. Department of Education will honor 342 schools at a recognition ceremony on Nov. 6-7 in Washington, D.C. In its 35-year history, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has honored more than 8,500 of America’s schools with this award.

I am proud of the schools this year and those from previous years,” said Cassellius. We must learn from these schools and expand our reach to every Minnesota school so all kids have what they need to succeed, regardless of circumstance.”

The recognized schools from Minnesota are:

  • Hoover Elementary, Mankato Public School District
  • Lake Marion Elementary, Lakeville Public School District
  • Woodland Elementary School, Alexandria Public School District
  • Gordon Bailey Elementary, South Washington County School District
  • Washington Elementary, Rochester Public School District
  • Wilshire Park Elementary, St. Anthony- New Brighton Schools
  •  St. Anthony Park Elementary, St. Paul Public Schools
  • Oakwood Elementary, Wayzata Public School District

Photographs and descriptions of the 2017 National Blue Ribbon Schools are available at