News: County board appoints Commissioner Marion Greene as chair

Having trouble viewing this email? View it as a Web page.

Hennepin County Minnesota



Marion Greene, County Board chair, 612-348-7883

Carolyn Marinan, Communications, 612-348-5969

County board appoints Commissioner Marion Greene as chair

On Tuesday, the Hennepin County Board voted unanimously to appoint District 3 Commissioner Marion Greene as chair for 2019.

Greene has served as county commissioner since May 2014. Her district includes all of St. Louis Park, most of southwest Minneapolis and much of downtown.

“I'm humbled by your trust, and want to specifically thank Commissioner Callison. I have appreciated the steady hand that she brings to the board and her value of stewardship – an example I plan to follow,” said Greene. “This is an amazing time to be in local government. I’m energized to embark on the new year of service to Hennepin County residents alongside colleagues and staff.”

Board elects Commissioner Mike Opat as vice chair

District 1 Commissioner Mike Opat will serve as vice chair of the board. His district includes the cities of Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, New Hope, Osseo and Robbinsdale. Commissioner Opat was first elected to the board in 1992.

Committee chairs

The board selected the following committee chairs:

  • Administration, Libraries and Budget: Commissioner Debbie Goettel, District 5
  • Health and Human Services: Commissioner Angela Conley, District 4
  • Intergovernmental Relations: Commissioner Jan Callison, District 6, and Mike Opat, District 1
  • Public Safety: Commissioner Jeff Johnson, District 7
  • Public Works: Commissioner Mike Opat, District 1

Regional Railroad Authority leadership

Acting as the Hennepin County Regional Railroad Authority, the board elected Commissioner Jan Callison, District 6, as chair and Commissioner Mike Opat, District 1, as vice chair of the authority.

“I am honored to have been elected by my colleagues to serve as chair of the Hennepin County Regional Railroad Authority,” said Callison. “Former Rail Chair Commissioner Peter McLaughlin left a strong legacy of working tirelessly to advance transit in Hennepin County and the region. Hennepin County has been a leader in transit and transportation and I look forward to working with our public and private sector partners in creating a transit system that meets the needs of all residents, businesses and visitors in our region.”

How to view board meetings

The county board usually meets Tuesdays at 1:30 p.m. at the Hennepin County Government Center. Find minutes, agendas and the 2019 calendar at

Board and committee meetings are live streamed on the web, broadcast live on Metropolitan Cable Network Channel 6, and re-broadcast on Channel 6 on Fridays at 8 p.m.

Look for more news on the Hennepin County website at

Discover how we're making a difference in our communities at