County Board Actions: Jan Callison named board chair

Having trouble viewing this email? View it as a Web page.




Jan Callison, County Board chair, 612-348-7886

Carolyn Marinan, Communications, 612-348-5969


County board actions

Votes Tuesday laid out the organization and leadership structure of the 2016 Hennepin County Board of Commissioners and the Railroad Authority. 

test header

Hennepin County Board reappoints District 6 Commissioner Jan Callison as chair

At its annual organization meeting on Tuesday, the Hennepin County Board unanimously voted to reappoint District 6 Commissioner Jan Callison as chair for 2016. Callison also served as chair in 2015.

"I look forward to continuing my role as Chair of the Hennepin County Board of Commissioners and building on the great work we have done in 2015," said Commissioner Callison.  "I am honored to be chosen by my colleagues to lead the board in 2016.

"The county plays a critical role in responding to the needs of both residents and businesses. I look forward to continued collaboration with my colleagues, staff and other partners as we work to provide county services efficiently and cost-effectively, as well as position Hennepin County for the future."

Callison has served on the board since 2009. Her district includes Deephaven, northern Eden Prairie, Edina, Excelsior, Greenwood, Hopkins, Long Lake, Minnetonka, Minnetonka Beach, northern Mound, Orono, Shorewood, Spring Park, Tonka Bay, Wayzata, and Woodland. She would be the second women to serve as chair. 

The board also elected Commissioner Linda Higgins, District 2, to serve as vice chair of the board. Her district includes the cities of Golden Valley, Medicine Lake, southeast Plymouth, St. Anthony and north and northeast Minneapolis, including the North Loop and Bryn Mawr neighborhoods. Commissioner Higgins has served on the board since 2013. Higgins also served as vice chair in 2015.

The board also established board committees and selected committee chairs:

Budget and Capital Investment: Commissioner Randy Johnson, District 5

Public Works, Energy and Environment: Commissioner Mike Opat, District 1

Health and Human Services: Commissioner Marion Greene, District 3

Public Safety and Judiciary: Commissioner Jeff Johnson, District 7

Libraries, Technology and General Government: Commissioner Peter McLaughlin, District 4

Intergovernmental: Commissioner Linda Higgins, District 2

Hennepin County Regional Railroad Authority leadership

Acting as the Hennepin County Regional Railroad Authority (HCRRA), the board unanimously re-elected Commissioner Peter McLaughlin, District 4, as chair and Commissioner Jan Callison, District 6, as vice chair of the HCRRA.

The county board usually meets Tuesdays at 1:30 p.m. at the Hennepin County Government Center. You can find a complete schedule, meeting minutes and agendas at

Board and committee meetings generally are live-streamed and on demand on the web, broadcast live on Metropolitan Cable Network Channel 6, and re-broadcast on Channel 6 on Fridays at 8 p.m. 

test footer

Offsite meetings

Due to a construction project underway in the board room on the 24th floor of the Hennepin County Government Center, the January 12 committee meeting will be held at St. Louis Park City Hall, 5005 Minnetonka Blvd, St. Louis Park, also at 1:30 p.m. 

The board is scheduled to return to the Government Center on January 26. 

– 30 –

Look for more news on the Hennepin County website at