Montgomery County Minimum Wage Increases on July 1

text of News Release
Bookmark and Share

Montgomery County Minimum Wage Increases on July 1

For Immediate Release: Wednesday, June 27, 2018

Beginning July 1, the minimum wage will increase in Montgomery County. The size of the increase is determined by the number of workers a business employs. The new law states that County businesses with 51 or more employees must pay workers $12.50 per hour. Employers with 50 or fewer workers will be required to pay employees $12 hourly. 

County Executive Ike Leggett signed Bill 28-17 (Human Rights and Civil Liberties – County Minimum Wage) on November 17, 2017.

Effective date

Large employer

Mid-sized employer

Small employer

July 1, 2018




July 1, 2019




July 1, 2020




July 1, 2021




July 1, 2022

$15+ CPI-W



CPI-W = Consumer Price Index for Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers 

"It is essential for all employers to ensure workers are paid the legal minimum wage,” said Montgomery County Office of Human Rights Director James Stowe. “We are pleased to work with chambers of commerce, Montgomery County Business Portal and the Maryland Labor, Licensing and Regulation (DLLR) website to inform and educate area employers to ensure full compliance."

An employer who provides "home health services" or "home or community-based services" and receives at least 75 percent of gross revenues through state and federal Medicaid programs, may apply to the Office of Human Rights for designation as an eligible services provider subject to an adjusted implementation schedule.

The minimum wage does not apply to employees younger than the age of 19, who work fewer than 20 hours per week. However, an employer may pay a wage equal to 85 percent to employees under the age of 20 years for the first six months that the employee is employed.

More information about Bill 28-17 and its amendments can be found at here.

More information on the incremental increase here.

The Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation enforces Montgomery County’s minimum wage law.

# # #

Media Contact: Judy Stiles 240-777-6507