FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Sustainable Growth Commission Announces 2019 Growth Challenge Winners

Bookmark and Share

Baltimore Masthead

Press Release



David Buck

(410) 767-4395 (o)

(443) 463-7139 (c)

Sustainable Growth Commission Announces 2019 Growth Challenge Winners

Morgan State University, St. Mary’s College and
the University of Maryland Represented

(March 22, 2019) Baltimore, MD - The Maryland Sustainable Growth Commission today announced the winners of the 2019 Sustainable Growth Challenge. Four groups of students representing Morgan State University, St. Mary’s College and the University of Maryland will receive their awards at the commission’s next meeting in Crownsville on Monday, March 25.

“These students represent the next generation of innovators who will help ensure Maryland remains a national leader in sustainable economic development and environmental stewardship,” said Governor Larry Hogan. “I am proud of their efforts and all of the forward-thinking work being done at our state’s colleges and universities.”

The Sustainable Growth Challenge is a program that engages Maryland college students in developing creative solutions to sustainability while also providing a career-building, real world learning experience. The challenge is an interdisciplinary exercise promoting economic growth, environmental stewardship and sustainable land use at the community level.

“The awardees have demonstrated creativity, flexibility and passion in their projects,” said Planning Secretary Rob McCord. “We continue to foster a legacy of best practices using mentorship, collaboration and education as our foundation.”

All students attending a Maryland college, along with their professors, are eligible to submit projects though they must represent student driven work. Projects focus on sustainable investment in Maryland’s communities, while concentrating on economic opportunity, environmental protection and social justice.

The winners of the 2019 Sustainable Growth Challenge are:

Franklin Square Neighborhood Plan (Morgan State University)

  • Christy Bernal, Justin Fair, Washina Ford, Kshitiz Gurung, Alexander Pianim, April Smith and Sha’Von Terrell

Applied Sustainability Practicum (St. Mary’s College)

  • Kaitlin Aaby, Toby Beauregard, Haley Brueckman, Dylan Burgevin, Allison Burnett, Amanda Cox, Mariah Dean, Afton Hauer, Spencer Kessinger, Emmett Mayberry, Tilghman Meiser, Isaac Page, Jacob Rosenzweig-Stein, Samuel Tyson-Brown, Hannah Warlick, Nick Williams and Ava Yensan

Growing Excellence: Using Nature to Cultivate Academic Excellence at
Prince George’s County Schools
(University of Maryland)

  • Marquise Barnes, Olivia Dudley, Samuel Ehrlich, Allison Fields, Catherine Garcia, Rachel Greenhawk, Maria Harrington, Jovon Jackson, Heyner Pajaro and Ryan Young

Streambank and Road Erosion in Harford County (University of Maryland)

  • Alexander Bailor, Narges Borumand, Ellen Kortesoja, Elena Perry, Luke Savonis and G. Trey Miller

The winners will present their projects to the Maryland Sustainable Growth Commission and receive their awards at the commission’s bi-monthly meeting.

Monday, March 25 at 1:00 p.m.
100 Community Place
First Floor Conference Room
Crownsville, MD 21032

To learn more about the Sustainable Growth Challenge and how Maryland college and university students can get involved, contact Joe Griffiths at or 410-767-4553.

 #  #  #