National Association of State Fire Marshals Announces Re-Election of Maryland State Fire Marshal Brian Geraci to the Board of Directors


National Association of State Fire Marshals Announces Re-Election of Maryland State Fire Marshal Brian Geraci to the Board of Directors

ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY, July 24, 2019 - At its annual membership meeting in Annapolis, Maryland, the principal membership of the National Association of State Fire Marshals (NASFM) held elections for two board positions. By unanimous acclamation, two State Fire Marshals were elected to serve two-year terms on the Association's Board, announced NASFM President Julius Halas (Director of Florida State Fire Marshal's Office). 

Brian Taylor (North Carolina Chief State Fire Marshal), was elected along with Brian Geraci (Maryland State Fire Marshal), who was re-elected after serving on the Board since 2017. They join sitting Board Directors Jeff Hussey (Ohio State Fire Marshal), and Mike Morgan (Director of the Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control). 


Left to Right: Director Jeff Hussey, Director Brian Taylor, President Julius Halas, Director Brian Geraci, Secretary-Treasurer Michael Desrochers, Vice President Jim Greeson, Immediate Past President H. Butch Browning, Director Mike Morgan, and outgoing Director Coy Porter. Photo courtesy of Joseph Goodrich.

"It is an honor to once again serve on the NASFM Board with my colleagues from across the country and host them in Annapolis for this year's conference," said Fire Marshal Geraci. "Our collaborative efforts allow us to raise the bar of fire safety and prevention in every corner of this great Nation."

Chief State Fire Marshal Brian Taylor was appointed in 2017 by NC Insurance Commissioner Mike Causey, and oversees the seven divisions within the Office of the State Fire Marshal, in addition to serving as the Executive Director of the N.C. Fire and Rescue Commission and State Training Director. He started his fire service career in 1998 and holds many fire and rescue certifications, as well as advanced training with the National Fire Academy, UNC School of Government, and UNC Charlotte Fire and Rescue Management Institute. 

Julius Halas, the Director of the Division of Florida State Fire Marshal, serves as President of NASFM. Jim Greeson, Indiana State Fire Marshal, serves as Vice President, and the Secretary-Treasurer position is filled by Michael Desrochers (Executive Director, Vermont Division of Fire Safety). Louisiana State Fire Marshal H. Butch Browning serves on the Board as Immediate Past President in an advisory, non-voting, capacity. The Directors were sworn into their positions by Fire Marshal Browning following the conference's opening ceremonies on July 22, 2019. 

"I look forward to working with this Board of Directors," said NASFM Executive Director Jim Narva. "They are all extremely strong leaders with great ideas and an understanding of how to achieve ambitious goals." 

About NASFM, “A Strong United Voice for Fire Prevention”
The principal membership of NASFM comprises the senior fire officials in the United States and their top deputies. The primary mission of the National Association of State Fire Marshals (NASFM) is to protect human life, property and the environment from fire and related hazards. A secondary mission of NASFM is to improve the efficiency and effectiveness of State Fire Marshals’ operations. In addition to its principal membership, NASFM has several categories of membership to allow companies, associations, academic and research institutions, and individuals who support NASFM’s mission to contribute in meaningful ways. Learn more about NASFM and its issues at

The Office of the State Fire Marshal is an agency of the Department of State Police dedicated to helping protect citizens from fire and explosion through a comprehensive program of education, inspection, investigation and fire protection engineering.  For more information on fire safety call 1-800-525-3124, log onto our website at: Maryland State Fire Marshal and/or our Facebook Page.