Having trouble viewing this email? View it as a Web page.

Maryland Transportation Authority

Governor Larry Hogan has appointed attorney and Certified Public Accountant Cynthia Penny-Ardinger as the newest member of the Maryland Transportation Authority (MDTA) Board. She will fill the seat occupied by board member Peter J. Basso, who has completed his term after serving on the MDTA Board since 2007. Ms. Penny-Ardinger, a resident of Howard County, was appointed December 10, 2019.

“Cynthia’s expertise in law and business operations will be positive assets to the entire MDTA team. I’d like to thank Peter for his years of dedicated leadership and wisdom, especially in ensuring the authority’s financial integrity,” said MDTA Chairman and Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT) Secretary Pete K. Rahn.

A partner at Baxter, Baker, Sidle, Conn & Jones, P.A., Ms. Penny-Ardinger has two decades of experience in representing clients in business and estates and trust practice areas.

She received a Bachelor of Science in economics from the University of Maryland, and a Juris Doctorate at the University of Maryland School of Law. She is a former president of the Friends of Howard County Library and has served on the boards of numerous organizations including the Ellicott City Volunteer Fire Co., the Charter Review Commission of Howard County and Neighborhood Ride, a Howard County organization that provides transportation to seniors. She has chaired numerous ad hoc committees devoted to educational advocacy.

“I look forward to the opportunity to join the Maryland Transportation Authority Board as we work with our community and other stakeholders to address the transportation needs of our fellow Marylanders,” said Ms. Penny-Ardinger.


The Maryland Transportation Authority finances, owns and operates the state’s eight toll facilities. MDTA Board members, appointed by the governor with consent of the State Senate, serve as the agency’s policy-setting and governing body. Maryland's Secretary of Transportation serves as MDTA Chairman.