Gov. Beshear Announces Second Round of Awards To Build Statewide Network of Electric Vehicle Charging Stations

Editor’s note: Click here to view the state’s planned EV charging map.

Kentucky State Seal





Crystal Staley

Scottie Ellis

Gov. Beshear Announces Second Round of Awards To Build Statewide Network of Electric Vehicle Charging Stations

Private developers will design, build, operate and maintain new ‘fast chargers’ for public use

FRANKFORT, Ky. (Oct. 23, 2023) – To keep Kentucky at the center of the electric vehicle (EV) revolution, Gov. Andy Beshear today announced a second round of awards for developers to design, build, operate and maintain a statewide network of EV charging stations.

In the second round of funding, five developers are approved to build eight public charging stations along three interstate highways and parkways that have been designated as Alternative Fuel Corridor groups. The five developers collectively qualified for more than $4.5 million in formula construction funding under the National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) program.

This round of funding includes building chargers in Berea, Calvert City, Grayson, London, Louisville, Richmond and Winchester.

Combined with the first round of awards announced earlier by Gov. Beshear, Kentucky has now approved 24 charging stations from seven developers along 16 corridor groups. Each station must have at least four charging ports of 150 kW each and be accessible around the clock.

“We are already the EV battery production capital of the United States,” said Gov. Beshear, who has announced 21 EV battery-related economic development projects during his administration. “To make sure Kentucky keeps leading the way in the EV boom, we’re building out our EV infrastructure so our families can charge up as they travel our great state.”

The EV charging program is a joint initiative of the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet (KYTC), Kentucky Energy and Environment Cabinet, Public Service Commission and the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA).

An estimated 37 stations will be needed to build Kentucky’s portion of the NEVI program. The initial build-out is required by federal law to be along Kentucky interstates and parkways that FHWA has approved for designation as Alternative Fuel Corridors.

As a group, the seven developers have been awarded subsidies totaling $15.4 million. The developers are required to bear at least 20% of project costs. Those approved for awards will be working closely with KYTC to enter into agreements to permit them to begin preconstruction work (design, utility coordination, environmental review and ordering equipment). Once initial work is completed, construction will start and take 12-18 months to complete.

Under Kentucky’s deployment plan, the direct current fast-charging (DCFC) stations must be open to the public 24 hours a day, 7 days a week and able to power most EV makes and models available in the domestic market. They also must be no more than 1 mile from a designated corridor and no more than 50 miles apart or more than 25 miles from the end of a corridor. KYTC intends to issue a second Request for Proposals before the end of the year to fill in the gaps with as many as 14 more charging stations.

Developers accepting the subsidy will be required by contract to operate and maintain the stations they build for five years after construction is completed. This will promote the long-term performance of the EV network according to NEVI requirements established by FHWA. Federal formula funds from the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law of approximately $70 million will support this initiative, with a match by private-entity funds.

Visit for more information about the program.

Today’s announcement furthers electric vehicle momentum in the commonwealth.

The Governor has secured the two largest economic development projects in state history. In September 2021, Gov. Beshear and leaders from Ford Motor Co. and SK On celebrated a transformative $5.8 billion investment that will create 5,000 jobs in Hardin County. In April 2022, the Governor was joined by leadership at AESC to announce a $2 billion investment that will create 2,000 jobs in Warren County. These announcements solidify Kentucky as the EV battery production capital of the United States.

That position was strengthened even further in May 2023, when the Governor and leaders at Toyota announced a $591 million investment across multiple projects as the company’s largest manufacturing operation in Georgetown introduced its first battery electric vehicle. Growth within the EV sector continued into June as Gov. Beshear joined INFAC North America to break ground on the company’s $53 million investment to support EV-related production in Campbellsville.

The EV battery economic development projects secured by Gov. Beshear total $10.87 billion and are expected to create 10,075 full-time jobs.