Lake County District 8 Board Member Bill Durkin Steps Down; Qualified Candidates Sought for Replacement

view as a webpage

Lake County Banner / Standard

March 24, 2022

Lake County District 8 Board Member Bill Durkin Steps Down;
Qualified Candidates Sought for Replacement

Lake County Board Member Bill Durkin announced that he is stepping down from his County Board seat effective April 18, 2022. 

Bill Durkin

"As a lifelong resident of Waukegan, I have been honored to serve not only the citizens of Waukegan but also those in Lake County as a member of the Lake County Board," said Bill Durkin." It has been a privilege to represent District 8 since 2010 and I appreciate the faith that the residents of my district have placed in me. I am excited to move forward into the next chapter of life knowing that under the leadership of my Lake County Board colleagues, Lake County is and will continue to be a great place to live, work and do business."

Member Durkin has served on the Lake County Board since 2010 and is the current Public Works, Planning and Transportation Committee Chair. Durkin is a lifelong resident of Waukegan and has been an active member of the community by serving as a Waukegan Park District Commissioner from 1999 - 2010 and as a Traffic and Sign Engineer for Waukegan Public Works for more than 29 years. 

Lake County Board Chair Sandy Hart is seeking qualified candidates to fill the District 8 county board seat. 

According to Illinois law, the Lake County Board Chair shall appoint someone to fill the vacancy within 60 days with the advice and consent of the county board. The appointee would serve until the end of this county board session, Dec. 4, 2022. 

State law requires that the individual appointed to fill the vacancy for the remainder of the term shall be:

  • At least 18 years old and a “legal voter” with a valid voter registration in Lake County. No individual may serve if their right to vote has been permanently revoked or temporarily revoked during the appointed term of office; and
  • A current resident of District 8, which includes portions of Waukegan; and
  • Of the same political party as the seat’s predecessor, when he was elected. This is determined by an individual’s declared party affiliation at a primary election. Accordingly, the Chair is required to appoint a Democrat to this vacancy.

An Ad Hoc Chair’s Advisory Committee will be formed to assist in the selection process and seek confirmation of appointees to the committee. 

Residents of District 8 who are interested in serving on the Lake County Board and meet the criteria are encouraged to submit their resume, letter of interest and any other supporting material they wish to include (such as letters of recommendation) via email to, or via U.S. mail to:

Lake County Board Chair Sandy Hart
Lake County Board Office, 10th Floor
18 North County St.
Waukegan, IL 60085

The deadline to apply is Wednesday, April 6, 2022, at 5 p.m.



Tammy Chatman
Chief Communications Officer