News Release: Chairman Lawlor Asks Residents to Honor Audrey Nixon’s Legacy by Stepping Forward to Serve; Begins accepting applications for District 14 County Board Vacancy

view as a webpage

Lake County Banner / Standard

May 8, 2017

Chairman Lawlor Asks Residents to Honor Audrey Nixon’s Legacy by Stepping Forward to Serve; Begins accepting applications for District 14 County Board Vacancy 

As many continue to mourn the passing of Lake County’s longest serving board member, Audrey H. Nixon, Lake County Board Chairman Aaron Lawlor officially declared the District 14 Board seat as vacant following funeral services.  Lawlor is seeking qualified candidates to serve on the County Board representing District 14, which includes Park City and portions of North Chicago, Waukegan, and Gurnee.

“The inspiring tributes to Member Nixon have a resounding theme.  Audrey was a champion for her communities – especially North Chicago.  We continue to mourn.  However, I know Audrey would not want her constituents to go without a county board representative for one day longer than necessary. She would want the next champion of the district’s communities to get to work.”

According to State Statute (10 ILCS 5/25-11), the Lake County Board Chairman shall appoint someone to fill the vacancy within 60 days with the advice and consent of the county board.

State law requires that Lawlor must appoint an individual who is:

  • At least 18 years old and a “legal voter” with a valid voter registration in Lake County.  No individual may serve if their right to vote has been permanently revoked or temporarily revoked during the appointed term of office (10 ILCS 5/2-3015).

  • A resident of Lake County for at least one year preceding the next election (November 26, 2018), and a current resident of District 14.

  • Of the same political party as the seat’s predecessor, when she was elected. Nixon was a lifelong Democrat last elected in 2016.  Accordingly, the chairman is required to appoint a Democrat to this vacancy.

The appointee shall serve the remainder of the term, which will expire in 2018.

At its May 9th meeting, Chairman Lawlor is requesting County Board approval for the creation of an Ad Hoc Chairman’s Advisory Committee to assist in the selection process and seeking confirmation of appointees to the committee.  The “Ad Hoc Chairman’s Advisory Committee on the District 14 Vacancy” will be chaired by County Board Member Mary Ross Cunningham.  The Committee membership includes County Board Member Sandy Hart, Clerk of the Circuit Court Erin Cartwright Weinstein, Chairman of the Lake County Democratic Party and IL Senator Terry Link, County Board Vice Chair Carol Calabresa and Chairman Lawlor.

Audrey Nixon, Aaron Lawlor

“I want to oversee the appointment process the same way Audrey lived her life – by bringing people together and treating everyone with respect and fairness,” Chairman Lawlor added.  “Audrey has left some very big shoes to fill and this appointment carries a special importance to me.  North Chicago and District 14 communities have both stark challenges and incredible promise.  We can’t just appoint a board member to lead on county issues. We need to identify a person who can bridge the divides and deliver the solutions that District 14 families need and the bright future they deserve.”

Residents of District 14 who are interested in serving on the Lake County Board, and meet the criteria, are encouraged to submit their resume and letter of interest to, or mail to:

Lake County Board Chairman Aaron Lawlor

Lake County Board Office, 10th Fl.

18 North County St.

Waukegan, IL 60085

The deadline for accepting applications is the close of business on Friday, May 26.

Lawlor also noted that while only one board member can be appointed, there are many opportunities for residents to serve.  Residents who are interested in serving their communities in an appointed leadership role are encouraged to visit the County Board’s website and apply for one of the over 300 volunteer positions on 70 different boards, commissions, committees and units of government that are appointed by the County Board Chairman.


Jennie Vana
Lake County Communications Manager
Phone Number: 847-377-2154