DuPage County District 4 newsletter

June 2019 newsletter for DuPage County Board District 4

View this email in your browser

dupage county news
Sustainable Design Challenge Eckhoff and Elliott

Board Members Discuss Sustainability with High School Students

County Board members Grant Eckhoff, Tim Elliott, and Mary FitzGerald Ozog talk to local high school students about their green building projects at the 13th annual Sustainable Design Challenge. After the event, Ozog attended lunch with the students and was joined by Congressmen Bill Foster and Sean Casten.

Sustainable Design Challenge OzogFoster Casten

HOPE Taskforce

HOPE Taskforce Continues Fight Against Opioids

Chairman Dan Cronin joined members of the DuPage Heroin-Opioid Prevention and Education Taskforce, including State's Attorney Bob Berlin, Sheriff Jim Mendrick, and Taskforce Chairman Greg Hart, to outline new initiatives to fight the heroin and opioid crisis in the county. Click here to see a video of the news conference.

Milton Township

Milton Township Receives Recognition for Consolidation

Chairman Dan Cronin and County Board member Tim Elliott presented a certificate of appreciation to Milton Township Supervisor Chris Heidorn for his efforts to consolidate the Milton Township Mosquito Abatement District. On April 30, the township board voted to accept consolidation with the Glen Ellyn Mosquito Abatement District.

Chairman Cronin Regional Business Outlook

Chairman Cronin, Board Members Attend Regional Business Outlook Meeting

Chairman Dan Cronin was pleased to welcome featured speakers Howard Tullman and Jack Albin, as well as Board members, guests, and speakers to the Choose DuPage 2019 Regional Business Outlook. County Board members Grant Eckhoff, Tim Elliott, and Mary FitzGerald Ozog joined the Chairman and fellow Board members at the event. Click here to view a video of the Chairman’s remarks.

District 4 Regional Business Outlook

Telecommunicators Week

Eckhoff Honors First Responders with Telecommunicators Proclamation

Chairman Dan Cronin and Emergency Telephone System Board members Grant Eckhoff presented a proclamation to 911 dispatchers in honor of National Telecommunicators Week, which was celebrated April 14-20.

DuPage County Forms Complete Count Committee

DuPage County has formed a Complete Count Committee to ensure all residents are counted during the 2020 Census. Federal and state officials rely on population data derived from the Census to allocate funds to the County and local units of government. A complete and accurate Census is vitally important.

County Awards Nearly $1 Million to Local Nonprofits

DuPage County recently awarded nearly $1 million to more than 60 local nonprofits through the Human Services Grant Fund, partnering with agencies that serve the most vulnerable residents of the county.

Islamic Center tour

Board Members Tour Islamic Center of Naperville

Chairman Dan Cronin and County Board member Tim Elliott took a tour of the Islamic Center of Naperville in April to learn more about the Muslim community.

Innovation DuPage openingInnovation DuPage

Elliott, Ozog Celebrate Innovation DuPage Grand Opening

Economic Development Committee Chairman Tim Elliott spoke at the ribbon cutting ceremony for Innovation DuPage, thanking the Glen Ellyn Village Board and Village President Diane McGinley, the College of DuPage and Interim President Brian Caputo, and Innovation DuPage for their collaboration on a great community project. Board member Mary FitzGerald Ozog also attended the event.

Innovation DuPage

DuPage County Receives 3 NACo Awards

DuPage County was honored to receive recognition from the National Association of Counties for three local initiatives. The First Offender Call Unified for Success (FOCUS) program launched in 2018 as an alternative to incarceration to provide drug treatment and rehabilitation services to eligible non-violent offenders. DuPage’s Stormwater Management Department received an Achievement Award for its Water Quality program and a Best in Category Award for its Shared Services program. Read more about these award-winning programs:

F.O.C.U.S. Court: www.dupageco.org/Content.aspx?id=60640

Stormwater programs: www.dupageco.org/Content.aspx?id=60641

DuPage Receives Solar Energy Designation

DuPage County was awarded a SolSmart designation for its efforts to make it easy for home and business owners to go solar. Read more about DuPage County's national SolSmart Bronze designation.

Ozog Attends Railroad Safety Council Meeting

Railroad Safety Council

County Board member Mary FitzGerald Ozog joined fellow County Board members at the April 20 meeting of the DuPage Railroad Safety Council in Hinsdale.


Meet District 4