Press Release from the Iowa Department of Public Safety

iowa department of public safety

View it as a Web page



Richard Rahn
Special Agent In Charge


UPDATE: 7:30 P.M.

July 22, 2022

MAQUOKETA, Iowa - The three victims of the triple-homicide at Maquoketa Caves State Park have been identified as: 


Tyler Schmidt, 42, Cedar Falls

Sarah Schmidt, 42, Cedar Falls

Lulu Schmidt, 6, Cedar Falls


The Iowa Office of the State Medical Examiner will conduct autopsies of all three victims. Once completed, the findings will be released. Additionally, the State Medical Examiner will perform an autopsy on suspect Anthony Orlando Sherwin, 23.

Law enforcement would like to thank the public for their assistance with the investigation and their concern for the Schmidt family. 

Investigators do not believe there is an on-going risk to the public. 

This is an on-going investigation, and no further information will be released at this time.

The Iowa Department of Public Safety (DPS) is the largest law enforcement agency in the state.  It includes six divisions and several bureaus, all working together with local, state and federal government agencies and the private sector, to keep Iowa a safe place by following our core values: leadership, integrity, professionalism, courtesy, service and protection.

Divisions within the Iowa DPS: Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation, Iowa Division of Narcotics Enforcement, Iowa State Patrol, Iowa State Fire Marshal Division, Iowa Division of Intelligence and Fusion Center, and Administrative Services Division. The Department of Public Safety is led by the Commissioner, appointed by the Governor.