PROCLAMATION

WHEREAS, Juneteenth recognizes and commemorates the day of June 19, 1865, when enslaved African-Americans in Texas were informed by Major General Gordon Granger that they were "free," ending 246 years of chattel slavery; and

WHEREAS, the Emancipation Proclamation was enacted by President Abraham Lincoln on January 1, 1863, but resistance to the Executive Order, as well as continued fighting in the state of Texas regarding the abolishment of slavery, significantly delayed the freedom of slaves; and

WHEREAS, on June 19, 1866, one year after Major Granger's announcement, the freed African American men and women in the state of Texas held the first "Juneteenth," or African American Independence Day celebration, and Juneteenth celebrations would later spread to all corners of the country; and

WHEREAS, the state of Texas became the first state in our nation to make Juneteenth an official holiday in 1979, followed by 41 other states that recognize Juneteenth as a state holiday or holiday observance; and

WHEREAS, for people of African descent in this country, Juneteenth is the closest occasion of a true "freedom day" to celebrate; and

WHEREAS, in King County, Juneteenth will be celebrated this year in people's homes and in virtual celebrations online, such as the Juneteenth Week programming by the Urban League of Metropolitan Seattle; and

WHEREAS, amid the Corona virus crisis, the historic Black Lives Matter movement, and the necessity of being counted in the 2020 census—mutual understanding, sense of community, and working together for the common good have become increasingly important values;

NOW, THEREFORE, we, the Metropolitan King County Council, proclaim June 19, 2020, as

JUNETEENTH

in Martin Luther King, Jr. County, recognize its historic importance, and encourage all residents to join us in its celebration.

DATED this <u>nineteenth</u> day of <u>June</u>, 2020.

Claudia Balducci, District Six, Council Chair

Rod Dembowski, District One

Kathy Lambert District Three

Dave Upthegrove, District Five

Joe McDermott, District Eight, Council Vice Chair

Girmay Zahilay, District Two

Jeanne Kohl-Welles, District Four

Pete von Reichbauer, District Seven

Reagan Dunn, District Nine, Council Vice Chair

nne Kobl- Welles