## Memorandum



Date March 6, 2024

To Honorable Mayor and Members of the City Council

## Subject UNSUCCESSFUL Petition to Recall Mayor Eric L. Johnson

On Friday, January 5, 2024, Davante D. Peters filed a written notice to circulate a petition, signed by other registered voters of the City of Dallas, seeking to recall Dallas Mayor Eric L. Johnson pursuant to Chapter IV, Section 12; Chapter V, Sections 1 and 2 of the Dallas City Charter and Title 16, Chapter 277 of the Texas Election Code.

Chapter V, Section 1, Subsection (A) of the Dallas City Charter states the petition must "be signed by qualified voters entitled to vote for a successor to the member sought to be removed, equal in number to at least 15 percent of the number of voters who, on the date of the last preceding general municipal election, were entitled to vote for the place occupied by the member sought to be removed." The total number of voters eligible to vote in the May 6, 2023 General Election for Place 15 (Mayor) was 690,635; therefore, the recall petition must contain at least 103,595 valid signatures.

Furthermore, Chapter V, Section 1, Subsection (2), of the Dallas City Charter states that "on the day the petition is first circulated, notice must be given in writing to the city secretary by five registered voters of the city council district from which the member is sought to be removed, and the total signatures required must be secured and the petition filed within 60 days after the city secretary receives notice." <u>Therefore, the complete petition/required number of signatures was to be received by our office no later than 5:15 p.m., Tuesday, March 5, 2024</u>.

Please be advised that because Mr. Peters failed to submit the "Recall Dallas Mayor Eric L. Johnson" petition within the required deadline, I am not able to confirm if the required number of valid signatures were secured. Therefore, Mr. Peters' petition has been deemed unsuccessful.

If you have any additional questions, feel free to contact me directly at (972) 979-2572 or via email.

Respectfully,

Bilierae Johnson Bilierae Johnson

City Secretary

c: Miroslava Martinez, Assistant City Secretary
T. C. Broadnax, City Manager
Kim Tolbert, Deputy City Manager
Tammy Palomino, City Attorney