January 9, 2018

MEMORANDUM

To: Directors, Exceptional Children Programs

Special Education Chairpersons, Institutions of Higher Education

Directors, Charter Schools

Directors, State Operated Programs

Council on Educational Services for Exceptional Children

Advocacy Groups

From: William J. Hussey, Director **wga**

Exceptional Children Division

Subject: Exceptional Children Distinguished Service Award Nominations

The Exceptional Children Division is busily preparing for the upcoming Exceptional Children March Institute to be held at the Koury Convention Center in Greensboro, NC on March 5-7, 2018. As part of this Institute, the Division will honor individuals who are distinguished for their many years of service and statewide impact on improving the education and lives of exceptional children in North Carolina. We will never be able to express our appreciation to all of you who work diligently, and often without adequate recognition for your efforts, in the field of education of exceptional children. However, we do want to take this special opportunity to recognize and honor those North Carolinians who have distinguished themselves by their contributions to the education of exceptional children across our state.

An award selection committee will identify persons from those nominated to receive the Distinguished Service Award. These presentations will be made during the Distinguished Service Award luncheon scheduled for March 6, 2018. Persons wishing to nominate individuals for consideration for a Distinguished Service Award must complete the enclosed nomination form and mail with supporting documentation to: **Sherry H. Thomas, Exceptional Children Division; NC Department of Public Instruction; 6356 Mail Service Center; Raleigh, NC 27699-6356** no later than February 8, 2018. Only one (1) nomination will be considered from any nominating person or organization. The nomination will not be accepted via fax or email.

All information is to be kept confidential by the nominator and the selection committee. Persons nominated should not be informed of their nomination. The selection committee will contact all selected nominees for this award. Staff members currently employed by or on contract with the Department of Public Instruction are not eligible to be considered for nomination.

Thank you for your efforts in helping us identify those distinguished individuals in North Carolina who have made a significant difference statewide in the education of exceptional children. Questions about the nomination process should be directed to Sherry H. Thomas at (919) 807-3992 or sherry.thomas@dpi.nc.gov.

WJH/SHT/kb

Enclosures

North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Exceptional Children Division DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARD

The Exceptional Children Division will honor selected North Carolinians who have distinguished themselves statewide in leadership and service to the education of exceptional children. This presentation is part of the awards luncheon planned as part of the Exceptional Children March Institute on Tuesday, March 6, 2018, at the Koury Convention Center in Greensboro, NC.

The Exceptional Children Division Distinguished Service Award recipients will be:

- ♦ Honored at the awards luncheon and invited to attend and bring guest(s);
- ◆ Profiled on the DPI website;
- ♦ Presented a letter of recognition;
- Presented a commemorative plaque; and
- ♦ Added to the Distinguished Service Award Plaque at the Department of Public Instruction.

ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

The nominee must be a North Carolinian who has demonstrated outstanding service statewide on behalf of exceptional children.

- ◆ The nominees must be distinguished with a prominent reputation and must have made significant contributions to the education of exceptional children in **one or more** of the following areas:
 - development/implementation of innovative teaching strategies and methods and/or promising programs/strategies at the administrative level;
 - provision of dynamic leadership;
 - provision of evaluation services;
 - fostering productive parent involvement;
 - facilitation of school to work partnerships;
 - advancement of educational research, promotion/protection of beneficial legislation;
 - outstanding public advocacy.
- Nominees may be professionals, parents, and/or educators.
- ♦ Staff members currently employed by or on contract with the Department of Public Instruction are not eligible to be nominated.
- No nominations will be considered without the nomination packet.
- Posthumous nominations are not accepted.

NOMINATION PROCEDURE

- 1. All nominations must be submitted in writing. Only one (1) nomination will be considered from any nominating person or organization. To be considered for selection the Nomination Form and nomination packet must be received by **the deadline**, **February 8**, **2018**. All information on the nomination form must be completed.
- 2. The nominator should submit the original nomination packet. The packet is to be mailed to the Exceptional Children Division, and the nominator is to keep a copy for his/her files. Nomination packets will not be returned.
- 3. All information should be kept confidential by the nominator. The Exceptional Children Distinguished Service Award Selection Committee will choose the recipients of this distinguished award from all nominations received. Award recipients will be notified of the honor by the selection committee.
- 4. Mail applications with supporting documentation to: Sherry H. Thomas, Exceptional Children Division; NC Department of Public Instruction; 6356 Mail Service Center; Raleigh, NC 27699-6356 no later than February 8, 2018. Fax or email nomination packets will not be accepted.

North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Exceptional Children Division Prior Recipients DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARD

2000

Nellie Apsel Anne Hyde Mildred L. Blackburn Cathy D. Kea Theodore R. Drain Sally Sloop

Jessie Ruth Angel Addison Neal Smith E. Lowell Harris

Alice P. Bartley James F. McKethan Martha E. Downing Regina P. Snead Richard B. White

Glenda M. Adams Samuel R. Patton Rebecca H. Felton Linda M. West W. David Mills

Lee Crisp Jane Rourk

Diann Irwin Odell Clanton

Joan V. Bond Beverly P. Crotts Mattie L. Muwwakkil

Susan W. Davis William Trant

Kathryn Davis Stephen Hooper Bobbie Fulk Grammer Gail Bettis Margaret Meany Vivian Dalmas Jane Bolton Schulz Cecelia Steppe-Jones

Frank Terry Kemp Myrna L. Doernberg Quinton K. Wall

2002

2004 Thomas L. Layton Ann R. Brady I. Azell Reeves Irene S. Howell

2006 Lucy F. Milner Diane M. Browder Winford L. Rose David L. Lillie

2008

Joel Hastings Brenda Gilchrest 2010

Randolph Foy Carol Arnold

2012 Cathy M. Boshamer Karen Haas

2014 Dale J. Metz Mary N. Watson

2016 Samuel Dempsey James Rich James L. Barden Helen Rhyne Marvin William A. Creech Octavia Knight James Gallagher

Sally Jane Dixon Janet Oakley Sockwell

Lee M. Beall Joy T. Nance Connie K. Hawkins Judy G. Thorne

Ellen H. Bacon David A. Powers Joseph H. Knight Brenda C. Winston

Barbara Gerhard Marsha Trip

Tony Mitchell

Glenda Callicutt Mary C. Hutchens

Laura H. Snyder Kathryn Wilson

Carolyn Hammond Ira Wolfe