

October 16, 2023

The Honorable Tim Walz Governor, State of Minnesota 130 State Capitol 75 Rev Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd Saint Paul, MN 55155

via electronic delivery

## Dear Governor Tim Walz,

On September 25, 2023, the Minnesota Department of Education published their intent to adopt the proposed academic standards for social studies. This triggered a comment period closing October 25, 2023, with an anticipated public hearing on November 8, 2023.

However, before these rules are adopted, there is a serious and urgent need for their immediate revision. Therefore, we are calling on you to direct the Commissioner of Education to immediately retract the notice of intent to adopt the new standards. Additionally, the commissioner needs to convene a new stakeholder group to remove the harmful and hateful language currently included in the proposed standards.

Hate has no place in our schools, and certainly has no place in our academic standards.

As Governor, you have rightly stood against members of your own party to condemn the terrorist attacks on the sovereign State of Israel, and the chair of your own party condemned the statement issued by the Democratic Socialists of America-Twin Cities for similar rhetoric that can be found in your proposed social studies standards and benchmarks.

Your proposed standards and benchmarks for social studies includes references to "settler colonialism" and "anti-colonialism" that share unfortunate, and hopefully unintended, similarities to the language used by the Democratic Socialists in their anti-Semitic rant against Israel and the United States. This rhetoric paints a picture that these democratically elected governments of Israel and the United States are apartheid regimes to be resisted and toppled.

Also, in recent days, we have seen anti-Semitic and pro-Hamas rallies under the banner of "resistance," which is also a central theme of the new social studies standards. This same theme of "resistance" could be interpreted by our impressionable youth as an invitation to violence.

We cannot allow or tolerate academic standards that read as if they were written by the Democratic-Socialists of America. It is unconscionable to even consider the possibility that our state academic standards would not only defend but condone the type of violence we have seen in recent days against the State of Israel under the guise of "anti-colonialism" or "resistance."

For these reasons, we urgently request reconsideration of your proposed standards and benchmarks before the possibility these standards are adopted.

Sincerely,

**Representative Peggy Bennett** 

Quia M. Denuth

Minority Leader Lisa Demuth

Representative Pam Altendorf

1.4.3

Representative Paul Anderson

Ben Bakeberg

Representative Ben Bakeberg

Representative Matt Bliss

**Representative Brian Daniels** 

Representative Ron Kresha

Representative Paul Torkelson

Representative Patti Anderson

mell

Representative Jeff Backer

ne Balle

Representative Dave Baker

Sen Brlef

Representative John Burkel

Representative Kurt Daudt

Representative Greg Davids

Jeffa & Leth

Representative Jeff Dotseth

Man Jon Coman

Representative Marj Fogelman

**Representative Pat Garofalo** 

Mally Somell

Representative Matt Grossell

Representative Josh Heintzeman

Walten Huden

Representative Walter Hudson

Sturen C. Jacob

Representative Steven Jacob

Debra Kiel

Representative Deb Kiel

Jon Koznick

Representative Jon Koznick

Ben Ri

Representative Ben Davis

Representative Elliott Engen

May D. Franker

Representative Mary Franson

Dawn C. Gillman

Representative Dawn Gillman

e Harder

Representative Bobbie Harder

Representative Shane Hudella

Representative Spencer Igo

Representative Brian Johnson

Representative Krista Knudsen

ge medon

Representative Joe McDonald

3 MS

Representative Shane Mekeland

Representative Nathan Nelson

Representative Harry Niska

Bernie Perryman

Representative Bernie Perryman

have

Representative Duane Quam

pe Schonade

Representative Joe Schomacker

DO# ggy/

Representative Peggy Scott

1 his Jured inste

Representative Chris Swedzinski

Representative Nolan West

**Representative Mark Wiens** 

Thomas N. Nunpay

Representative Thomas Murphy

1/

Representative Anne Neu Brindley

Representative Tim O'Driscoll

Monion Kauch

Representative Marion Rarick

Representative Kristin Robbins

Isaac Schutz

Representative Isaac Schultz

Rogen J. Skaba

Representative Roger J. Skraba

Representative Dean Urdahl

what

Representative Mike Wiener

Witte

Representative Jeff Witte

Notalie Zelegnikas

Representative Natalie Zeleznikar