Spencer Igo State Representative

District 5B Itasca and Cass Counties



Minnesota House of Representatives

March 10, 2021

The Honorable Tim Walz 75 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard St. Paul, MN 55155

Via electronic delivery

Governor Walz:

We are writing today to urge you to expand spectator capacity at upcoming Minnesota State High School League (MSHSL) tournaments.

It is encouraging to read in the media that you are likely to allow the Minnesota Twins to host games at Target Field with limited capacity. It is our hope that you will also include indoor arenas like the Xcel Energy Center so that parents and students can gather to watch the pre-eminent high school hockey tournament in the country.

As we approach state tournaments for winter sports, it is critical that we consider how important these events are for student athletes, their families, and their communities. For many student athletes, qualifying for the state tournament is a crowning achievement. They should not be forced to pick and choose which family members are able to attend these games.

Blue and red states alike have started the process of reopening and are allowing limited spectators at sporting events. We respectfully ask that you follow their examples and engage in negotiations with the MSHSL on a plan to expand capacity at upcoming state tournament events.

Let's start returning to normal by making this small adjustment that will make a big difference to students and families across the state.

Sincerely,

Representative Spencer Igo

Minority Leader Kurt Daudt

Yut Done

State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, Minnesota 55155 651-296-4936 Email: rep.spencer.igo@house.mn

Deputy Minority Leader Anne Neu Brindley

Representative Paul Anderson

Representative Peggy Bennett

Representative John Burkel

dia M. Donieth

Representative Lisa Demuth

Representative Sondra Erickson

Glenn Pt. Grunday

Representative Glenn Gruenhagen

Representative Josh Heintzeman

Susan akland

Representative Susan Akland

0

Representative Jeff Backer

Math Blis

Representative Matt Bliss

Mn James

Representative Brian Daniels

Bol Delliner

Representative Bob Dettmer

May D. Franson

Representative Mary Franson

Barbara le Hally

Representative Barb Haley

Representative Jon Koznick

Jan Kozwiek

Dale K Luck

Representative Dale Lueck

Fatricia K Muller

Representative Patricia Mueller

Representative Paul Novotny

Representative Donald Raleigh

Representative Peggy Scott

Representative Shane Mekeland

Representative Jim Nash

Representative John Poston

Representative Kristin Robbins

Representative Dean Urdahl

in Urdall