

395 John Ireland Boulevard Saint Paul. MN 55155 By Email Only

December 8, 2021

The Honorable Rick Hansen
State Representative, District 52A

The Honorable Robert Bierman State Representative, District 57A

The Honorable John Huot State Representative, District 57B

The Honorable Liz Reyer State Representative, District 51B The Honorable Kaela Berg
State Representative, District 56B

The Honorable Jess Hanson State Representative, District 56A

The Honorable Sandra Masin State Representative, District 51A

The Honorable Ruth Richardson
State Representative, District 52B

Dear Legislators,

Thank you for your recent letter regarding the use of federal American Rescue Plan Act funds and Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act funds for transportation projects in Dakota County.

As you know, local governments received some funding through ARPA and are now in the process of deciding how to use those funds. The Governor's supplemental budget request will contain additional proposals for spending ARPA funds received by the state.

We are confident that local governments also will receive a portion of IIJA funds, although it is too soon to say exactly how those funds will be distributed. We are still waiting for Congress to appropriate fiscal year 2021 funds within the framework of IIJA, and then the state legislature will need to provide budget authority for MnDOT to be able to access those funds.

It also is anticipated that USDOT will provide supplemental guidance and criteria for IIJA funds available to states and local governments for new, transformational programs but this process could take several months. Projects that address equity, safety and sustainability are expected to compete well for IIJA funding.

I am glad to hear that Dakota County has several good projects that can be ready for construction in short order. Local governments will continue to be key partners in delivering federal funding for projects that benefit all Minnesotans, and we look forward to working together with the County on these and other priorities.

Sincerely,

Margaret Anderson Kelliher
Commissioner Andrew Kelliher

CC: The Honorable Tim Walz, Governor

The Honorable Frank Hornstein, Chair, House Transportation Finance and Policy Committee

Equal Opportunity Employer