## **RESOLUTION BY COMMISSIONER BRIEVE**

WHEREAS, the Kent County Revolving Loan Fund Committee will be created to monitor the progress of the Kent County Affordable Housing Loan Fund and, when necessary, make recommendations to the Board of Commissioners regarding actions or adjustments to the loan fund that are designed to address barriers to affordable housing development; and

WHEREAS, the Committee will have an initial term of 10 years and will terminate on December 31, 2033, unless it is extended by resolution of the Board of Commissioners; and

WHEREAS, the Kent County Revolving Loan Fund Committee will be comprised of 10 members to include two Commissioners, the County Administrator/Controller, two individuals representing non-profit organizations that coordinate community responses to the affordable housing shortage, one individual representing a non-profit housing development organization, one individual representing a for-profit housing development company, one individual representing a bank/finance institution, one individual representing private philanthropy, and one resident of Kent County who has lived experience with the affordable housing system; and

WHEREAS, the following individuals will be the initial appointments to the Revolving Loan Fund Committee:

- Commissioner: Tony Baker, Kent County Board of Commissioners (District 17) (January 1, 2024 December 31, 2024)
- Commissioner: Dan Burrill, Kent County Board of Commissioners (District 8) (January 1, 2024 December 31, 2024)
- Kent County Administrator/Controller (Administrator is a permanent member)
- Private philanthropy representative: Ryan Kilpatrick, (January 1, 2024 December 31, 2026)
- Representative of non-profit organization that coordinates community responses to the affordable housing shortage: Brooke Oosterman (January 1, 2024 – December 31, 2025)
- Representative of non-profit organization that coordinates community responses to the affordable housing shortage: Eureka People (January 1, 2024 – December 31, 2026)
- Non-profit housing development organization representative: Ryan VerWys (January 1, 2024 December 31, 2025)
- For profit housing development company representative: Monica Steimle-App (January 1, 2024 December 31, 2024)
- Bank/financial institution representative: Brad Kessel (January 1, 2024 December 31, 2025)

• A resident of Kent County who has lived experience: Andrew Havemeier (January 1, 2024 – December 31, 2026)

WHERAS, any person eligible to serve on the Committee by virtue of an official office shall cease to be a member of the Committee if, in the opinion of the Board of Commissioners Chair, that person ceases to hold the office, maintain the association upon which eligibility to serve is predicated, or otherwise ceases to be eligible. The vacant unexpired term shall be filled by appointment by the Chair of the Board of Commissioners with approval of the Board of Commissioners; and

WHEREAS, aside from the initial appointments which are appointed for staggered terms and appointments to fill a vacancy which shall be for the unexpired term, all current and future appointments to the Committee will each have a term of three years. This extended term length is approved by a majority vote of the Board of Commissioners under Standing Rule 3.8 which shall be deemed to suspend Standing Rules 6.1 and/or 7.0 limiting committees and appointment terms to one year and approve the individuals appointed by the Chair; and

WHEREAS, the Committee shall have a term of 10 years which term is approved by a majority vote of the Board of Commissioners under Standing Rule 3.8 which shall be deemed to suspend Standing Rules 6.1 and/or 7.0 limiting committee terms to one year.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners establishes the Kent County Revolving Loan Fund Committee, its term, and approves the initial appointments to the Committee and their respective terms.

Commissioner Brieve moved the resolution be adopted.