Press Release: Gov. Evers Announces Appointments to Governor's Task Force on Retirement Security

Office of Governor Tony Evers
For Immediate Release: October 21, 2019
Contact: or 608-219-7443
Gov. Evers Announces Appointments to Governor's Task Force on Retirement Security

MADISON — Gov. Tony Evers today announced 20 appointments to serve on the Governor’s Task Force on Retirement Security. The task force was created through Executive Order #45 and is tasked with addressing the growing crisis of retirement security in the state of Wisconsin. State Treasurer Sarah Godlewski will serve as the chair of the task force. 

"Everyone should have the opportunity to save for their future and no one should have to worry about making ends meet or their financial security in retirement," Gov. Evers said. "I'm looking forward to hearing more about the work of our task force on what we can do at the state level to make sure we're helping prepare and give folks that peace of mind." 

"After years of hard work, Wisconsinites deserve the opportunity to have financial security when it comes time to retire," Treasurer Godlewski said. "Our work will be informed by the stories I've heard traveling around the state on the barriers people face when saving for retirement. I look forward to leading this task force in developing pragmatic solutions that will not only help hardworking Wisconsinites, but also our economy."

Members of the Governor’s Task Force on Retirement Security will include: 

  • Wisconsin State Treasurer Sarah Godlewski, Chair 
  • Department of Health Services Secretary-designee Andrea Palm or a representative
  • Department of Workforce Development Designee Pam McGillivray, Chief Legal Counsel
  • Office of the Governor, Kara Pennoyer, Deputy Chief of Staff
  • Senator Janis Ringhand
  • Senator Kathy Bernier
  • Representative Evan Goyke
  • Representative Cindi Duchow
  • Michael Williamson, State of Wisconsin Investment Board, Executive Director, Retired
  • Sara Chandler, State of Wisconsin Investment Board, Chief Legal Counsel
  • Michael Lauer, Service Employees International Union, State Director
  • J. Michael Collins, University of Wisconsin-Madison Center for Financial Security, Faculty Director
  • Jennifer Wickman, Cooperative Network, Director of Government Affairs
  • Lisa Lamkins, AARP Wisconsin, Advocacy Director
  • Ron "Duff" Martin, Wisconsin Education Association Council, President 
  • Maiyoua Thao, City of Appleton Alderperson for District 7
  • Guadalupe "Wally" Rendon, Educators Credit Union, Racine
  • Brenda Gebhardt, Gebhardt Financial, West Allis
  • Dr. Eve Hall, Milwaukee Urban League, New Berlin
  • Jim Blank, United Northeast Educations, Executive Director, Retired

The first meeting of the Governor’s Task Force on Retirement Security is scheduled for October 25.