Dental Quality Assurance Commission- AprilNewsletter

Dental Commission Banner
BLS Image

Basic Life Support Requirements

Know the BLS certification requirements for dental staff who provide direct patient care. Find out how to be compliant here.

Dental Therapy

Dental Therapist License in Washington State

Dental Therapists are allowed to practice in Federally Qualified Health Centers or FQHC look-a-likes. Read more here. 


Meet our newest Commission members!

We would like to introduce you to some of our newest members. Read their bios here. 

In Famous

Infamous or Famous; We'll let you decide

After his first article, we asked him to use his creativity once more. Dr. Gressell tells us a story titled, I'm your Huckleberry.


We want to hear from you!

Rumors happen, but we all know there are facts. Let us know what you are hearing or have questions about. We will present these topics in upcoming Newsletters. Send your requests/questions to


Continuing Education Quiz

Earn continuing education credit by taking our newsletter quiz! See this edition's quiz as well as the answers from the previous edition here.

Upcoming Commission Meeting Dates:

  • April 26, 2024
  • June 14, 2024
  • July 26, 2024
  • September 6, 2024
  • October 11, 2024
  • December 6, 2024

Click here to view Dental's Frequently Asked Questions.

Frequently Visited

Article Quick Links

Basic Life Support Requirements

Dental Therapist License in WA State

Meet our newest Commission Members

Infamous or Famous; We'll let you decide

We want to hear from you

Continuing Education Quiz

Dental Rules and Laws

RCW 18.32

WAC 246-817

RCW 18.260

RCW 18.350

RCW 18.130

WAC 246-12

WAC 246-16

RCW 70.02

Commission Members

David Carsten, D.D.S., Chairperson
Bryan Swanson, D.D.S., Vice-Chairperson
Carolin Spice, Public Member
Joy McDaniel, D.M.D.
Mac Rainey, Public Member 
Miryam Nossa, EFDA.
Ronald Marsh, D.D.S.
Samantha Kofler, D.D.S.
Sonia Pal, D.M.D.
Sarah Khan, D.M.D.
Tiffany Bass, D.D.S.
Nisha Sharoff, D.D.S.
Marlynne Fulton, Public Member
Cheon Yoon, D.D.S.
Evelyn Harry, EFDA
Rama Oskouian, D.M.D.

Commission Staff and Contact Information

Trina Crawford
Executive Director

Debbie Gardner
Program Manager

Sherri Stratton
Assistant Program Manager

Erin Obenland
Case Manager

Department of Health
PO Box 47852
Olympia, WA

Customer Service

Dentist website

Contact the Commission

DOH 646-175
April 2024