SBA WV 2016 Small Business Champion of the Year - Jens Kiel

Having trouble viewing this email? View it as a Web page.

SBA WV District Office

Jens Kiel – Made in Germany

Photo of: Terry, Jens, Karen

Nominated by: Terry Cyfers, WV Small Business Development Center

The U.S. Small Business Administration’s West Virginia District Director, Karen Friel is excited to announce Jens Kiel, founder of Made in Germany, as the SBA West Virginia 2016 Small Business Champion of the Year.  Kiel was nominated for the award by Terry Cyfers, Business Coach for the West Virginia Small Business Development Center.

A small business champion is someone who assists small businesses outside of their regular job descriptions. When Jens was asked why he volunteers his time for free, he stated “Because it is good for West Virginia”.

Jens volunteers for numerous community events but where he went above any expectation is as an organizer of the 2013-2014 Create WV conference. Among all of his volunteer efforts he also owns his own small business – Made in Germany – a marketing and creative strategy consultancy.

His business is helping professional, technical and scientific service companies to communicate to their audience with impact. He donates his time to many organizations, such as the United Way of Harrison County, Shiloh Village, and Shoenbaum Center, offering marketing and communication strategies.

“It’s refreshing to see mountaineers helping out other mountaineers,” states Friel. “The more small business owners can help each other the better our small business community in West Virginia will be – I think we should all follow Jens lead.”

SBA’s West Virginia District Office celebrates Kiel’s award during an invite only luncheon at the Robert H. Mollohan Research Center in Fairmont, Wednesday, May 4 at 12:00 p.m. The awards luncheon is emceed by WBOY reporter Nick Farrell; attendance includes Senator Capito, Congressman McKinley, and Secretary Burdette. Click here for a list of the 2016 West Virginia District Small Business Week winners.