Colorado FSA: March 2018 Newsletter

March 2018

NL Masthead

Colorado FSA Newsletter

Colorado Farm Service Agency

P.O. Box 25426
Denver, CO  80225-0426

Phone:  720-544-2876
Fax:  844-860-8238

State Executive Director:
Clarice Navarro

State Committee:
Jo Stanko – Chairperson
Glenn Hirakata
Robert Mattive
Alex Rock
Nathan Weathers

Next State Committee Meeting: April 23-25, 2018

Reasonable Accommodations: People with disabilities who require accommodations to participate in FSA programs should contact the County Executive Director in the FSA Office in your area or Federal Relay Service at 1-800-877-8339.  Alternatively, you may also contact Colorado FSA Civil Rights Coordinator Jenny Peterson at 720-544-2895 or


From the State Executive Director

As we move our clocks forward and approach spring, the days become a little longer and producers are busy with planting preparations. We hope you take some time to review the FSA Newsletter, and take note of any approaching dates and deadlines applicable to your farming or ranching operation.

FSA customers not only have the option of receiving agency updates via email, they now also have the option to subscribe to receive FSA text message alerts on their cell phones.  These alerts provide time-sensitive information. Contact your local FSA office to learn how to subscribe to FSA text message alerts.

Thank you to everyone who participated in our 2017 County Committee elections. Your local committees are hard at work completing orientation training. Thanks as well to those who participated in the nomination and election periods by either running for office or voting.  We look forward to working with each of you.

Secretary Perdue Appoints Colorado FSA State Committee

U. S. Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue announced Farm Service Agency (FSA) State Committee appointees earlier this year. 

The State Committee is responsible for the oversight of farm programs and county committee operations, resolving appeals from the agriculture community, and helping to keep producers informed about FSA programs.


The State Committee members appointed for Colorado are (left to right):

  • Nathan Weathers – Yuma
  • Alex Rock – Wray
  • Committee Chair Jo Stanko – Steamboat Springs
  • Robert Mattive – Monte Vista
  • Glenn Hirakata – Rocky Ford