U.S. Department of Education Green Ribbon Schools Honorees Announced

Green Strides Design


          U.S. Department of Education

   Green Strides

U.S. Department of Education
Office of Communications & Outreach, Press Office
400 Maryland Ave., S.W.
Washington, DC  20202


FOR RELEASE:  May 4, 2017

CONTACT: Press Office (202) 401-1576 or press@ed.gov

2017 U.S. Department of Education Green Ribbon Schools, District Sustainability Awardees, and Postsecondary Sustainability Awardees Announced

Award Honors Schools, Districts, and Postsecondary Institutions for Reducing Environmental Impact and Costs, Improving Health and Wellness, Offering Effective Sustainability Education

The U.S. Department of Education today released the names of the 2017 U.S. Department of Education Green Ribbon Schools, District Sustainability Awardees, and Postsecondary Sustainability Awardees. Across the country, 45 schools, nine districts, and nine postsecondary institutions are being honored for their innovative efforts to reduce environmental impact and utility costs, improve health and wellness, and ensure effective sustainability education. A state education official was also honored for her efforts to advance school sustainability in the state of Georgia.

“I commend each school, district, and institution of higher education for their efforts to create a healthy learning environment for students, faculty and staff,” said U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos.  “These schools have done exemplary work to help prepare the rising generation for the careers and challenges of the 21st Century.” 

The honorees were named from a pool of candidates nominated by 28 states and the Department of Defense Department of Education Activity. The selectees include 39 public schools, including five magnet schools and one charter school, as well as six nonpublic schools. Forty-four percent of the 2017 honorees serve a disadvantaged student body and 14 percent are rural. The postsecondary honorees include three career and technical and community colleges.

The list of all selected schools, districts, colleges, and universities, as well as their nomination packages, can be found here. A report with highlights on the 63 honorees can be found here. More information on the federal recognition award can be found here. Resources for all schools to move toward the three Pillars can be found here.

Following is the list of 2017 U.S. Department of Education Green Ribbon Schools, District Sustainability Award, and Postsecondary Sustainability Award honorees:


  • Childersburg Elementary School

            Childersburg, AL

  • Sycamore School

            Sycamore, AL

  • University of Alabama at Birmingham

            Birmingham, AL


  • Yosemite High School

            Oakhurst, CA

  • The Thacher School

            Ojai, CA

  • Culver City Unified School District

            Culver City, CA

  • Montecito Union School District

            Santa Barbara, CA

  • Redondo Beach Unified School District

            Redondo Beach, CA


  • Sedalia Elementary School

            Sedalia, CO

  • Colorado Mountain College

            Glenwood Springs, CO


  • Moriarty Environmental Sciences Magnet School

            Norwich, CT 


  • Forwood Elementary School

            Wilmington, DE

  • F. Neil Postlethwait Middle School

            South Camden, DE

Department of Defense Education Activity

  • Tarawa Terrace Elementary School

            Tarawa Terrace, NC


  • Castle Creek Elementary School

            Orlando, FL

  • Surfside Elementary School

            Satellite Beach, FL

  • Wilton Manors Elementary School

            Wilton Manors, FL

  • Air Base K-8 Center

            Homestead, FL

  • Duval County Public Schools

            Jacksonville, FL


  • Gilbert Elementary School

            LaFayette, GA

  • Kinchafoonee Primary School

            Leesburg, GA

  • Morningside Elementary School

            Atlanta, GA

  • University of Georgia

            Athens, GA


  • Maercker Intermediate School 

            Westmont, IL

  • Chiaravalle Montessori School 

            Evanston, IL


  • Burris Laboratory School 

            Muncie, IN

  • Bethany Christian Schools  

            Goshen, IN  


  • Iowa Lakes Community College

            Estherville, IA 


  • Morton Middle School

            Lexington, KY


  • Belle Chasse Academy

            Belle Chasse, LA

  • Mayfair Laboratory School

            Baton Rouge, LA

  • Louisiana State University

            Baton Rouge, LA


  • William Tyler Page Elementary School

            Silver Spring, MD

  • John Poole Middle School

            Poolesville, MD


  • Edgewood Early Childhood & La ola del lago Spanish Immersion School

            Prior Lake, MN

  • Pilot Knob STEM Magnet School

            Eagan, MN

  • Bemidji State University

            Bemidji, MN


  • McKelvey Elementary School

            Maryland Heights, MO 

  • Parkway North High School 

            St. Louis, MO 

  • Maplewood Richmond Heights Middle School 

            Maplewood, MO 


  • Whitefish School District

            Whitefish, MT


  • Chandler View Elementary School

            Omaha, NE

  • Omaha Northwest Magnet High School

            Omaha, NE

New Hampshire

  • Keene State College

            Keene, NH

New Jersey

  • George L. Catrambone Elementary School

            Long Branch, NJ

  • Long Branch Middle School

            Long Branch, NJ

New Mexico

  • Sandia Vista Elementary School

            Rio Rancho, NM


  • Lakewood Catholic Academy

            Lakewood, OH


  • Portland Waldorf School

            Milwaukie, OR


  • Coebourn Elementary School

            Brookhaven, PA

  • The School District of Philadelphia

            Philadelphia, PA

Rhode Island

  • Moses Brown School 

            Providence, RI

  • Rhode Island College 

            Providence, RI


  • Centreville Elementary School

            Centreville, VA

  • Discovery Elementary School

            Arlington, VA

  • Albermarle Public Schools

            Charlottesville, VA

  • Fairfax County Public Schools

            Fairfax, VA


  • Green Gables Elementary School

            Federal Way, WA

  • Lakeridge Elementary School

            Mercer Island, WA


  • Houlton Elementary School

            Houlton, WI

  • Kromrey Middle School

            Kromrey, WI

  • Washburn School District

            Washburn, WI

  • University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point

            Stevens Point, WI

                    # # #