This Week’s Webinars on FTA’s New Safety Rules

Following publication of two important new safety rules, FTA is hosting a webinar series to explain the rules and their applicability to the transit industry. The next two sessions – an overview of the safety final rules and a focus on the training rule – have been scheduled for Tuesday, July 31 and Thursday, August 2.

On July 19, 2018, FTA issued two final regulations to strengthen the safety of public transportation systems: the Public Transportation Agency Safety Plan (PTASP) rule and the Public Transportation Safety Certification Training Program (PTSCTP) rule. The PTASP final rule requires certain rail and bus operators to develop safety plans to better manage their safety risk using Safety Management Systems. The PTSCTP final rule establishes a basic curriculum for rail transit safety personnel responsible for the safety oversight of rail transit systems.

The webinar series runs from July through September. Webinars will be held by mode, although participants are free to choose dates that best fit their schedules. Registration is required for all sessions.

Webinar Series

This week:
Safety Final Rules Overview 2 p.m. ET Tuesday, July 31 | Register
PTSCTP (Training Rule) 2 p.m. ET Thursday, August 2 | Register

Upcoming:
PTASP
Multimodal Agencies
2 p.m. ET Monday, August 6 | Register
2 p.m. ET Thursday, August 30 | Register

SSO Agencies
2 p.m. ET Thursday, August 9 | Register
2 p.m. ET Wednesday, September 5 | Register

Bus-only Agencies
2 p.m. ET Tuesday, August 28 | Register

State DOTs
2 p.m. ET Wednesday, August 29 | Register
2 p.m. ET Wednesday, September 12 | Register

Rail-only Agencies
2 p.m. ET Thursday, September 6 | Register

PTSCTP (Training Rule)
2 p.m. ET Thursday, August 16 | Register