FTA Announces Certification of the State Safety Oversight Programs for Arkansas, Louisiana, Texas and Wisconsin Ahead of Important Deadline

FTA today announced that Arkansas, Louisiana, Texas and Wisconsin have obtained federal certification of their rail transit State Safety Oversight (SSO) Programs, in advance of an important safety deadline. 

Federal law requires states with rail transit systems to obtain FTA certification of their SSO Programs by April 15, 2019.  By federal law, the deadline cannot be waived or extended. 

Press Release
State Safety Oversight (SSO) Programs 
State Safety Oversight Certification Status