FTA to Host Webinar Series on New Safety Rules

On July 19, 2018, FTA issued two final regulations to strengthen the safety of public transportation systems: the Public Transportation Agency Safety Plan (PTASP) rule and the Public Transportation Safety Certification Training Program (PTSCTP) rule. The PTASP final rule requires certain rail and bus operators to develop safety plans to better manage their safety risk using Safety Management Systems. The PTSCTP final rule establishes a basic curriculum for rail transit safety personnel responsible for the safety oversight of rail transit systems.

To explain the safety rules and their applicability to transit agencies, FTA will host a webinar series from July through September. The series kicks off tomorrow with an overview webinar, followed by sessions specific to the agencies who must comply with PTASP and PTSCTP. Webinars will be held by mode, although participants are free to choose dates that best fit their schedules.

Safety Final Rules Overview
2 p.m. ET Wednesday, July 25 | Register
2 p.m. ET Tuesday, July 31 | Register

PTASP
Multimodal Agencies
2 p.m. ET Monday, August 6 | Register
2 p.m. ET Thursday, August 30 | Register

SSO Agencies
2 p.m. ET Thursday, August 9 | Register
2 p.m. ET Wednesday, September 5 | Register

Bus-only Agencies
2 p.m. ET Tuesday, August 28 
| Register

State DOTs
2 p.m. ET Wednesday, August 29 | Register
2 p.m. ET Wednesday, September 12 | Register

Rail-only Agencies
2 p.m. ET Thursday, September 6 | Register

PTSCTP
2 p.m. ET Thursday, August 2 | Register
2 p.m. ET 
Thursday, August 16 | Register