united states coast guard

12 JUN 20

ALCGPSC 067/20
1. The International Military Community Executives Association (IMCEA) will again be presenting MWR awards and scholarships in 2020. IMCEA awards offer commands a unique opportunity to recognize exceptional members of the command performing MWR duties through the awards program of this international organization. Nominees for MWR awards may perform MWR duties as a collateral assignment and may be appropriated or non-appropriated funded individuals. The following are the award
category criteria and format for submission:
     a. Irv Rubenstein Memorial Award: Designed to recognize exceptional achievement of an MWR manager with less than two years of managerial experience.  Winners of this award display exceptional coaching, mentoring, leadership and management skills, achieve particularly outstanding performance results in their programs, and possess great potential for continued success in military MWR. 
The award provides an incentive for young managers to aspire to great achievement in military MWR/Services early in their careers.  Each Service has an award winner.
     b. Roy C. Olson Award: Presented each year to an MWR professional who exemplifies the high quality of standards set by the awards namesake while serving in the MWR programs of the Marine Corps and the Navy. The award winner is selected from nominees of all five Services based on outstanding contributions to MWR, demonstrated leadership, professionalism, dedication, innovative skills, and
genuine caring.
     c. MWR Leadership Award:  This award is designed to recognize senior officials who have consistently demonstrated exceptional leadership skills and who make particularly significant contributions to the improvement of MWR programs.
     d. IMCEA Hall of Fame: Presented each year to an IMCEA member. Inductees have achieved major successes within the military MWR profession through consistent exemplary leadership, innovation, creativity, dedication, caring, and resourcefulness. They are proven leaders in their field and their contributions to Service personnel and their families worldwide are unmatched by their peers.
     e.  The Frederick J. McKenney Lifetime Spirit Award:  In honor of Frederick J. McKenney, who passed away in 2014, this annual award recognizes hospitality professionals who have overcome personal and professional adversity and/or challenges while achieving success in their respective MWR programs over a course of a career.
     f. IMCEA and Paul Reece Founders Award: Presented annually to those individuals who have been active in establishing IMCEA chapters and who have been responsible for IMCEA membership recruitment.
     g.  Robert W. Brunsman Memorial Scholarship: Open to all IMCEA MWR/Services Professional Members in good standing who are currently enrolled in a higher learning institution, whether in-class or on-line.
     h. Roy C and Dorothy Jean Olson Memorial Scholarship: Open to family members of current IMCEA Professional Members who are graduating from high school and continuing their education, or who are already enrolled in college.
2. This year’s award submissions are required electronically. A copy of the nomination form may be obtained at the IMCEA web site: Submit electronic nominations to CSC no later than 26 June 2020. Your email date will document receipt date. Email nominations must include command approval.
3. Those individuals meeting the criteria for the IMCEA scholarships may obtain scholarship application information at the IMCEA web site and forward completed applications to the address provided.
4. Should you have any questions about these awards, please call Mr. Matt Perciak, MWR Director, at 757-842-4903.
5. Released by: RDML S. N. Gilreath, Commander, CG Personnel Service Center. The Service Center for Our Most Important Resource – Our People.
6. Internet release authorized.